Augustana College printing logo

April 17, 2008

2009 Season - CCIW names soccer players Keri Hess and Matt Young as Augustana's recipients of the 2008 Merle Chapman award

Hess was a four-time letter winner and served as team captain in 2007. She was a first team All-CCIW goalkeeper in both 2006 and 2007 and won Augustana’s Iron Viking award each of the last two years as well. She finished her career with a 34-8-4 record with 215 saves and a 0.69 goals against average.

Like Hess, Young was a four-time letter winner for the Vikings. He played in 66 career games, starting 59 of them. He finished his career with four goals and nine assists for 17 points.

2008 Merle Chapman Award Winners

Keri HessSchaumburg HS, Schaumburg, Ill.Women's Soccer
Matt YoungLincoln-Way Central HS, Manhattan, Ill.Men's Soccer
Maggie McTeagueOak Forest HS, Oak Forest, Ill.Women’s Cross Country and Track & Field/Women’s Basketball
Ryan BurksMidwest Central HS, Manito, Ill.Men's Basketball
Michal JorwicYork HS, Elmhurst, Ill.Women's Soccer
Michael WhiteLincoln-Way Central HS, New Lennox, Ill.Men's Cross Country and Track and Field
Illinois Wesleyan  
Jenna PessanantiLaGrange Lyons HS, Western Springs, IllVolleyball
Brian DulingClinton HS, Clinton, Ill.Men's Track and Field
Ally JamesSeton Academy, Oak Forest, Ill.Women's Basketball
Gilbert WhiteLeo HS, Chicago, Ill.Football
North Central  
Lisa LinkSoutheast HS, Springfield, Ill.Women's Soccer
Chris ToyWest HS, Niles, Ill.Baseball
North Park  
Natalie DarcyQueen of Peace HS, Chicago, Ill.Volleyball
Isaac BirdsallHuntington North HS, Apple Valley, Minn.Men's Soccer
Lauren HeinGreenville HS, Greencille, OhioSoftball
Josh WilliamsNaperville Central HS, Naperville, IllMen's Tennis