Augustana College printing logo

July 9, 2013

Harris, Wethington win Erickson Award as 78 receive blankets

Meghan Wethington was selected as the female winner of the Knut Erickson Award at the annual Blanket Award Dinner for Augustana athletics. Tommy Harris was the male winner.

Tommy Harris (Davenport Assumption HS, Davenport, Iowa) and Meghan Wethington (Geneseo HS, Geneseo, Ill.) were the winners of the Knut Erickson Award at the annual Blanket Awards Dinner at Augustana on Sunday, May 5. Harris, a distance runner in track & field and a member of the Vikings cross country team and Wethington, a women's tennis player, were given the Knut Erickson Award that goes to the female and male athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages among the senior blanket award winners.

In order to receive a varsity "A" letter blanket, an Augustana athlete has to be the same sport for four years and must letter at least three times. A total of 78 seniors (25 women and 53 men) received the blanket at the annual ceremony, which was held in the College Center.  

Harris was a four year letter winner in cross country and track & field and he served as team captain on the cross country team as a senior. He was named to the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin academic all-conference team all four years in both sports. He graduated with a degree in biology and a 3.90 grade point average.  

Wethington was a four year letter winner in tennis and was voted as the Vikings' Hardest Worker after her senior season when she compiled a 3-9 record in singles and a 19-14 mark in doubles. She finished her career with a 32-33 record in singles and was 43-35 in doubles. During her senior season she served as team captain and finished second in the CCIW Tournament at number three doubles while playing with partner Krista Panko (Geneva HS, Geneva, Ill.).

Wethington was a four year academic all-conference performer and served as team captain as a senior. She graduated with a degree in Communication Sciences & Disorders with a grade point average of 3.98.

Also on the agenda was the John Farwell Academic Team Award that went to the team that posted the highest cumulative grade point average for the 2012-13 school year. The winner on the women's side was the golf team with a 3.35 GPA, the fourth time since 2001 that the golfer's had the highest cumulative GPA. The men's winner was the tennis team with a 3.21 GPA. It was the second consecutive year and the sixth time in the award's history that the tennis team had the best male GPA.  

Listed below are the 2012-13 Augustana senior blanket award winners.  


The varsity "A" letter blanket is the highest award given by the Augustana College athletic department. In order to achieve it, the athlete must compete in his/her sport for four years and earn at least three varsity letters. The 2012-13 blanket award winners are as follows:  


Basketball Gianna Pecora (Downers Grove South HS, Darien, Ill.)  

Cross Country Tara Bistry (Joliet Catholic HS, Joliet, Ill.) Theresa Coverick (Stagg HS, Palos Park, Ill.) Annie Heifner (Oregon HS, Oregon, Wis.) Sarahbeth Jones (Warren Township HS, Glen Allen, Va.) Kirstillyn Pohlman (Zion Benton Township HS, Winthrop Harbor, Ill.) Jennifer Prazak (North HS, Naperville, Ill.)  

Golf Megan Vandersee (Sterling HS, Sterling, Ill.) Morgan Wilkinson (Westmont HS, Westmont, Ill.)  

Soccer Kirsten Boesen (Normal West HS, Herscher, Ill.) Courtney Linn (Pleasant Valley HS, Bettendorf, Iowa) Bridget McDermott (Mount Prospect HS, Mount Prospect, Ill.) Taylor Moesle (Carl Sandburg HS, Orland Park, Ill.)  

Softball Amanda Johnson (York Comm HS, Elmhurst, Ill.)  

Swimming Molly Clennon (Benet Academy HS, Naperville, Ill.) Hollyann Kabbe (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.) Alexandra Piper (Coal City HS, Coal City, Ill.) Emma Regnier (Grayslake North HS, Lake Villa, Ill.) Emily Timmons (West Aurora HS, North Aurora, Ill.)  

Tennis Krista Panko (Geneva HS, Geneva, Ill.) Meghan Wethington (Geneseo HS, Geneseo, Ill.)  

Track & Field Samantha Bazely (Rock Island Alleman HS, Coal City, Ill.) Tara Bistry (Joliet Catholic HS, Joliet, Ill.)* Annie Heifner (Oregon HS, Oregon, Wis.)* Sarahbeth Jones (Warren Township HS, Glen Allen, Va.)* Kirstillyn Pohlman (Zion Benton Township HS, Winthrop Harbor, Ill.)* Jennifer Prazak (North HS, Naperville, Ill.)* Taylor Tjardes (Gibson City-Melvin-Sibley HS, Gibson City, Ill.) Jordan Mauerman (Albany HS, Albany, Wis.)  

Volleyball Sarah Williams (Rockford Lutheran HS, Loves Park, Ill.)  


Baseball David Balzer (Morris HS, Shorewood, Ill.) Rick Erickson (Lake Zurich HS, Hawthorne Woods, Ill.) Benjamin Heaton (Bloomington Central Catholic HS, Heyworth, Ill.) Jeremy Juhl (Glenbard East HS, Lombard, Ill.) Jared McIntosh (Assumption HS, Davenport, Iowa) Jim Sandberg (J.K. Mullen HS, Littleton, Colo.) Kurt Schmidt (Grayslake Central HS, Grayslake, Ill.)  

Basketball George Dexter (Bettendorf HS, Moline, Ill.) Brandon Kunz (Lake Zurich HS, Lake Zurich, Ill.)  

Cross Country Tommy Harris (Assumption HS, Davenport, Iowa) Kyle McNicholas (Carl Sandburg HS, Orland Park, Ill.) Brian Pollastrini (York HS, Elmhurst Ill.) Jonathan Smith (Moline HS, Moline Ill.) Justin Smith (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.) Nathan Smith (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.)  

Football John Draminski (Wethersfield HS, Kewanee, Ill.) Arnie Fitzwater (Waterford Union HS, Waterford, Wis.) Shane Holl (Batavia HS, North Aurora, Ill.) Mike Kautz (Alleman HS, East Moline, Ill.) Derek King (Westmer HS, New Boston, Ill.) Robert Mago (Cary Grove HS, Cary, Ill.) Andrew O'Reilly (Driscoll Catholic HS, Elgin, Ill.) Marty Resner (Oswego HS, Montgomery, Ill.) Kevon Rivers (Uplift Community HS, Chicago, Ill.) Derek Schneeman (Streator HS, Streator Ill.) Joe Spindler (Hononegah HS, Rockton, Ill.) Nick Welch (Oswego HS, Oswego, Ill.)  

Soccer Jason Beckus (Neuqua Valley HS, Naperville, Ill.) Nick Wolfe (Neuqua Valley HS, Naperville, Ill.) Kevin Wyrostek (North HS, Naperville, Ill.)  

Swimming Christopher Greaves (Morris HS, Morris, Ill.)  

Tennis Jack Cullen (Edgewood HS, Madison, Wis.) Will Palmer (Schiller International School, Peckleton, Leicester, Leicestershire, United Kingdom)  

Track & Field Luke Anderson (Lemont HS, Lemont, Ill.) Michael Anderson (Richmond-Burton HS, Spring Grove, Ill.) Ryan Brummet (Riverdale HS, Port Byron, Ill.) Daniel Doubet (Galesburg HS, Galesburg, Ill.) Ethan Gale (Oregon HS, Oregon, Ill.) Kevin Macek (Carl Sandburg HS, Orland Park, Ill.) Floyd Mays (Mooseheart HS, Palatine, Ill.) Dennis O'Flaherty (Carl Sandburg HS, Orland Park, Ill.) Jacob O'Rourke (Assumption HS, Davenport, Iowa) Greg Patton (Bloomington HS, Bloomington, Ill.) Alex Rindone (Marmion Academy HS, Geneva, Ill.) Michael Tovar (Mooseheart HS, Chicago, Ill.) Colton Vankirk (Rochelle HS, Rochelle, Ill.) Kyle Williams (Lake Zurich HS, Lake Zurich, Ill.) Joseph Zahn (Moline HS, Moline, Ill.) Tommy Harris (Assumption HS, Davenport, Iowa)* Brian Pollastrini (York HS, Elmhurst, Ill.)* Jonathan Smith (Moline HS, Moline, Ill.)* Justin Smith (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.)* Nathan Smith (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.)*  

Wrestling Matthew Burns (Central HS, Naperville, Ill.) Hunter Feraco (Gull Lake HS, Battle Creek, Mich.) Cody Heche (Cary-Grove HS, Cary, Ill.) Ian Knepshield (Shady Side HS, Ford City, Pa.) Matthew Regnier (Riverside Brookfield HS, Riverside, Ill.)   * - Indicates second sport