Augustana College printing logo

Jones wins NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Sarahbeth Jones was recently awarded the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship for her accomplishments on the track and in the class room.

Sarahbeth Jones (Warren Township HS, Wadsworth, Ill.) added to Augustana's growing number of NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship winners recently. The talented distance runner was the second Viking this spring to be named the winner of an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship for spring sports. She joins men's track & field standout Greg Patton (Bloomington HS, Bloomington, Ill.) as Augustana award winners for this prestigious honor.

  Jones was one of just 29 female athletes across all divisions to be awarded the postgraduate scholarship by the NCAA. The $7,500-dollar grant is awarded by the NCAA to "student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition."  

Jones was excellent both as a distance runner on the track and as a student in the classroom during her four years at Augustana, which began in the fall of 2009. She is the 28th student-athlete in Augustana history to earn an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.  

Just over four weeks ago, Jones was named to the Capital One Academic All-District team as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America. She was a first team selection and was joined on that team by her teammate Kierra Smith (Creston HS, Creston, Iowa).  

Jones put together one of the most decorated track careers in Augustana history. In her senior year, Jones was a three-time CCIW champion and set five school records, four individually. At the outdoor CCIW meet, she pulled off a rare double by winning both the 5000 and 10,000 meter races. For her career, Jones won a total of six CCIW championships and owns or is part of 11 school records. She just missed out on being an All-American in both her junior and senior years, placing ninth in the NCAA Division III 5000 in 2012 and ninth in the 1500 in 2013.  

Sarahbeth is the daughter of Lewis and Elizabeth Jones of Glen Allen, Virginia. Jones graduated from Augustana with a degree in communication studies and English and had a grade point average of 3.60.  

Release written by student assistant Leo Anderson                  


Kayla Braud Softball Alabama
Leslie Brost Track & Field North Dakota State
Brigid Byrne Track & Field U.S. Naval Academy
Emily Canales Track & Field Redlands
Raven Chavanne Softball Tennessee
Jasmine DePompeo Lacrosse U.S. Naval Academy
Amy Dressen Softball Southwest Minnesota State
Elizabeth Evans Track & Field Rose-Hulman
Constance Ezugha Track & Field Arizona State
Maria Foehse Tennis Alabama
Olivia Galati Softball Hofstra
Kathryn Gross Track & Field Seattle Pacific
Brittany Hammer Softball Seton Hall
Sally Hansen Track & Field Utah Valley
Kaaren Hatlen Softball Pacific Lutheran
Kelsey Horton Softball Florida
Shari Huber Softball Luther
Sarahbeth Jones Track & Field Augustana
Laura Krull Tennis Grinnell
Jenny Liles Tennis University of the South
Jenna Martson Softball Missouri
Whitney McAteer Golf Northeastern State
Lindsay Menton Lacrosse Gettysburg
Ashley Olen Lacrosse LIU Post
Alexis Paine Track & Field Alabama
Hope Robbins Softball Arkansas
Leah Sack Lacrosse Kenyon
Holly Schell Softball Immaculata
Kara Wang Tennis Pomona-Pitzer


1968 Jeff Maurus Football
1970 Tim Dodge Wrestling
1971 Ken Anderson Football
1975 Bruce Hamming Basketball
1976 John Stanek Men's Track & Field
1977 Joe Thompson Football
1986 Steve Sanders Football
1995 Rachel Knapp Women's Track & Field
1995 Tommy King Football
1996 Ryan Carpenter Football
1998 Alison Wolak Women's Track & Field
1998 Chris Meskan Football
2000 Mackenzie Hay Football
2001 Kim Baier Women's Track & Field
2002 Rudy Kovachevich Men's Cross Country
2003 Todd Baldwin Football
2004 Manda Geerts Women's Track & Field
2005 Steve Broski Baseball
2006 Nick Johnson Men's Track & Field
2007 Meghan Voiland Women's Track & Field
2007 Samantha Knox Softball
2009 Keli Coleman Women's Track & Field
2009 John Wagle Baseball
2009 Blaine Westemeyer Football
2010 Max Petersen Men's Track & Field
2012 Matt Bowman Men's Track & Field
2013 Greg Patton Men's Track & Field
2013 Sarahbeth Jones Women's Track & Field