Augustana College printing logo

May 31, 2013

Seniors dominate men's track & field awards

Greg Patton (left) was the winner of the Most Inspirational Award and Alex Rindone (right) won the Most Valuable Track Athlete for the Vikings in 2013. Both were members of the 400 and 1600 relay teams that earned All-American honors also.

Coach Paul Olsen has announced the award winners for his 2013 Augustana men's track & field team and three seniors figure prominently among the honorees. Alex Rindone (Marmion Academy, Geneva, Ill.) and Kevin Macek (Sandburg HS, Orland Park, Ill.) earned Most Valuable recognition in track and field, respectively, while Greg Patton (Bloomington HS, Bloomington, Ill.) was chosen Most Inspirational.

Rindone set three individual school records this year and ran on three record-setting relays as well. He earned All-America honors in four events as a senior, including second-place national finishes in the indoor 400 meters and outdoor 4x400 relay. In addition, he won CCIW titles indoors in the 200 and 4x400 relay and outdoors in the 100 and 200 and 4x100 and 4x400 relays. His performance at this spring's conference championships earned him Track Athlete of the Meet for the second time in three years.  

Rindone finished his career with individual school records in the indoor 60 (:06.95), 200 (:21.97), 300 (:34.57) and 400 (:48.21) and outdoor 200 (:21.17) and 400 (:47.43). He was a member of school record relays in the 4x400 (3:16.88) indoors and 4x100 (:40.88), 4x400 (3:09.48) and sprint medley (3:21.25) outdoors. He was a seven-time All-American and won a total of 11 individual CCIW championships and nine conference relay titles.  

The Vikings' top thrower, Macek finished second in the discus at this year's CCIW outdoor meet with a season-best heave of 152'. He was also third in the hammer and fifth in the shot. At the indoor conference meet, his 51' 3¾" weight throw earned him fourth place and he took eighth in the shot. Macek's other outdoor bests this year included a 50' 5¼" in the shot and a 162' 11" in the hammer.  

Patton was the CCIW 400-meter champion both indoors and outdoors this year and also won conference titles with Augustana's 4x100 relay outdoors and 4x400 relay indoors. He finished eighth in the nation indoors at 400 meters and also earned All-America status with the Viking indoor 4x400 and outdoor 4x100 and 4x400 relay units. He finished his career as a six-time All-American and nine-time CCIW champion. He's a member of school-record relays in the outdoor 4x100 (:40.88) and 4x400 (3:09.48) and indoor 4x400 (3:16.88). The latter two marks were set this year.  

Most Valuable Freshman honors went to Keith Sands (United Township HS, Silvis, Ill.) for track and Caleb Ivey (Plainfield North HS, Plainfield, Ill.) for field events. Sands was the CCIW outdoor 5000-meter champion this year with a 14:48.78. At the conference indoor meet, he was third in the 5000 and sixth in the 3000. Ivey finished sixth at this year's CCIW indoor meet with a long jump of 22 ¾". His outdoor best was 22' ¼" at the Wartburg Select. Sophomore Antonio Owens (Naperville North HS, Naperville, Ill.) was recipient of Most Improved honors. As a member of the Viking outdoor 4x400 relay, he earned a CCIW championship, All-America status (second in the nation) and helped set a new school record (3:09.48). He also garnered a third-place finish in the 400 (:48.81) at the CCIW outdoor meet.  

Captains-elect for the 2014 season are distance runner Tyler Busch (Winnebago HS, Winnebago, Ill.), decathlete Josh Eisenberg (Richmond-Burton HS, Spring Grove, Ill.), sprinter Jay Graffagna (Geneva HS, La Fox, Ill.) and middle-distance man Chris Madison (Downers Grove South HS, Downers Grove, Ill.). All four will be seniors in 2014.  


Jacob Adams* Middle Distance Sr Palos Heights, Ill./Stagg
Andrew Allabastro*** Middle Distance Jr LaGrange, Ill./Lyons Township
Luke Anderson*** Javelin Sr Lemont, Ill./HS
Mike Anderson*** Javelin Sr Spring Grove, Ill./Richmond-Burton
Grant Bell** Distance So Belgrade, Minn./Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa
Jacob Benner** Sprints So Batavia, Ill./HS
Kyle Bennett** Hurdles So Davenport, Iowa/West
Andrew Brimeyer** Distance So Dubuque, Iowa/Senior
Ryan Brummet**** Sprints Sr Port Byron, Ill./Riverdale
Tyler Busch*** Distance Jr Winnebago, Ill./HS
Keegan Buttimer** Middle Distance So Riverside, Ill./Riverside-Brookfield
Justin Choate* Throws Jr Sugar Grove, Ill./Kaneland
Keith Cline** Sprints So Byron, Ill./HS
Kyle Cluver* Sprints Fr Aurora, Ill./Waubonsie Valley
Vincenzo Dal Pozzo** Middle Distance So Naperville, Ill./Neuqua Valley
Justin Davidson*** Jumps Jr Galesburg, Ill./HS
David Devore** Pole Vault So Midland, Mich./HS
Mitch Dietrich* Distance Jr Quincy, Ill./Quincy Notre Dame
Daniel Doubet**** Sprints Sr Galesburg, Ill./HS
Joshua Eisenberg*** Decathlon Jr Spring Grove, Ill./Richmond-Burton
Ethan Gale**** (C) Decathlon Sr Oregon, Ill./HS
Travis Goodwin* Hurdles Fr Simi Valley, Ca./HS
Kevin Gordy** Jumps So Mokena, Ill./Lincoln Way West
Nick Gornick** Distance So Elmhurst, Ill./York
Jay Graffagna*** Sprints Jr LaFox, Ill./Geneva
Stephen Hapanovich* Javelin Jr Cary, Ill./Cary-Grove
Thomas Harris**** Distance Sr Davenport, Iowa./Assumption
Kevin Hodge* Throws Jr Elburn, Ill./Kaneland
Shay Hostens* Decathlon Fr Galesburg, Ill./HS
Paul Hurd* Middle Distance Sr Wilton, Iowa/HS
Caleb Ivey* Jumps Fr Plainfield, Ill./Plainfield North
Ethan Koch* Distance Fr Mount Prospect, Ill./Prospect
Jeremy Lang* Hurdles Fr Stillman Valley, Ill./Rockford Christian
Will Lardner* Decathalon Jr Mundelein, Ill./HS
Szymon Ligas* Middle Distance Jr Spring Valley, Ill./St. Bede Academy
Andrew Lulis** Decathlon So Lake Zurich, Ill./HS
Kevin Macek**** (C) Throws Sr Orland Park, Ill./Carl Sandburg
Chris Madison* Middle Distance Jr Downers Grove, Ill./South
Floyd Mays**** Sprints Sr Justice, Ill./Mooseheart
Cale McCormick* Middle Distance Fr Mahomet, Ill./Mahomet-Seymour
Rob McNeil** Sprints So Normal, Ill./Bloomington Central Catholic
Garrett Miner* Sprints Fr Moline, Ill./HS
Alex Odenkirk** Distance So Tucson, Ariz./Ironwood Ridge
Dennis O'Flaherty**** Middle Distance Sr Orland Park, Ill./Carl Sandburg
Jacob O'Rourke**** Sprints Sr Bettendorf, Iowa/Davenport Assumption
Antonio Owens* Sprints So Naperville, Ill./Naperville North
Jeff Padesky** Pole Vault So Moline, Ill./HS
Greg Patton**** (C) Sprints Sr Bloomington, Ill./HS
Brian Pollastrini**** (C) Distance Sr Elmhurst, Ill./York
Alex Rindone**** (C) Sprints Sr Geneva, Ill./Marmion Academy
Keith Sands* Distance Fr Silvis, Ill./United Township
Nowlan Savage** Sprints So Highlands Ranch, Colo./Arapahoe
Alec Seymour** Sprints So Riverton, Ill./HS
Nick Sinon** High Jump Jr Elburn, Ill./Kaneland
Jonathan Smith**** Distance Sr Moline, Ill./Moline
Justin Smith**** (C) Middle Distance Sr Bensenville, Ill./Fenton
Nathan Smith*** Distance Sr Bensenville, Ill./Fenton
Jared Spivey*** Sprints Jr Annawan, Ill./HS
Alexander Stockwell** Middle Distance Jr Glen Ellyn, Ill./Glenbard West
Michael Tovar*** Jumps Sr Chicago, Ill./Mooseheart
Isaac Trostle** Distance Jr Lombard, Ill./Willowbrook
Edgar Valle*** Middle Distance Jr Elburn, Ill./Kaneland
Colton Vankirk** Pole Vault Sr Rochelle, Ill./HS
David Voland** Hurdles So Batavia, Ill./HS
Kyle Williams**** Decathlon Sr Lake Zurich, Ill./HS
Joseph Zahn**** Middle Distance Sr Moline, Ill./HS
Steve Zahrobsky*** Sprints Jr Woodridge, Ill./Downers Grove South