Augustana College printing logo

May 14, 2013

Five Vikings named All-CCIW

Senior second baseman Kurt Schmidt has been named to the All-CCIW first team for the second year in a row. Schmidt was one of five Vikings to earn all-conference recognition this year.

NAPERVILLE, Ill.- Five members of Coach Greg Wallace's 20th-ranked Augustana baseball team have been named to this year's CCIW All-Conference team. Senior second baseman Kurt Schmidt (Grayslake Central HS, Grayslake, Ill.) and sophomore pitcher Seth Davis (Mullen HS, Aurora, Colo.) were first team selections, while senior closer Rick Erickson (Lake Zurich HS, Hawthorn Woods, Ill.), junior right fielder Jacob Van Duyne (Wilmington HS, Wilmington, Ill.) and sophomore left fielder Danny Fifer (Lincoln-Way West HS, New Lenox, Ill.) were named to the second team.

The quintet of Vikings has helped Wallace's club to a 32-9 record and an NCAA tournament appearance this season. Augustana finished 14-6 and in second place in the CCIW before rolling to the championship of the conference tournament.  

Schmidt was a first team pick for the second year in a row. He has started all 41 games this year, hitting .366 and leading the Vikings in home runs (two), RBI (41), total bases (78), slugging (.484) and stolen bases (14). He finished second in the CCIW with 21 RBI and was third in the league with nine doubles. In addition, he led the conference with four sacrifice flies.  

Davis, a second team all-conference pick last year as a freshman, is 7-1 with a 1.88 ERA. He's completed five of 11 starts, including two shutouts. He's fanned 92 in 81 1/3 innings - the third highest single-season strikeout total in school history and just 12 away from John Benedetti's school record of 104 set in 2000. Davis led the CCIW with 48 K's.  

In 14 appearances this year, Erickson sports a 4-0 record and is nine for nine in save opportunities. He has a 1.65 ERA and opponents are hitting just .164 against him. He peaked during the conference season, leading the CCIW with six saves and nine games finished. He tied for the league lead with nine appearances and finished with a 2-0 record, a 0.87 ERA and an opponents' batting average of .091.  

Van Duyne is a repeat second team selection. He's hitting .367 this year with team highs of 43 runs scored and 66 hits. He's also stolen 12 bases in 14 attempts. The Vikings leadoff hitter in all 41 games this year, he finished second in the CCIW with 35 hits. He was the league's seventh-leading hitter at .380.  

Fifer, who went 6-for-6 in Augustana's 12-1 win over Illinois Wesleyan for the CCIW tournament championship, is the Vikings' leading hitter this year at .404. His .446 on-base percentage also leads the team and he ranks third with 30 RBI despite not being in the lineup on a full time basis until the season was almost a month old.        


FIRST TEAM  School  Pos.  Yr.  Hometown/H.S.
 Justin Swider  Wheaton  OF  Jr.  Wheaton, Ill./North
 Tyler Wargo  Elmhurst  OF  Jr.  Streator, Ill./H.S.
 Kyle Williams  North Park  OF  Sr.  Cary, Ill./Cary-Grove
 Dave Wolak  Elmhurst  OF  Jr.  Carol Stream, Ill./Glenbard North
 Kevin Callahan  Illinois Wesleyan  INF  Sr.  Chicago, Ill./Brother Rice
 Kevin Hennessy  North Central  INF  Sr.  Naperville, Ill./San Antonio Clark (Texas)
 Eric Sousanes  North Park  INF  Jr.  Aurora, Ill./Waubonsie Valley
 Philip Tuttle  Wheaton  INF  Sr.  Duluth Ga./Providence Christian Academy
 A.J. Nathan  Illinois Wesleyan  C  Sr.  Highland Park, Ill./H.S.
 Marc Mantucca  Carthage  UT  Jr.  Naperville, Ill./Central
 John Ciolkosz  North Central  DH  Jr.  Homer Glen, Ill./Providence Catholic
 Lou Diaz  North Park  DH  Sr.  Chicago, Ill./Oakton Community College
 Jeff Johnson  Illinois Wesleyan  P  Jr.  Gurnee, Ill./Warren Township
 Michael Kaufman  Wheaton  P  Fr.  El Cajon, Calif./Christian H.S.
 Nick Mehn  Illinois Wesleyan  P  Sr.  Peoria, Ill./Limestone
 John Munyon  Illinois Wesleyan  P  So.  St. Charles, Ill./North
 SECOND TEAM  School   Pos.  Yr.  Hometown/H.S.
 Jon Frericks  Illinois Wesleyan  OF  Jr.  Gurnee, Ill./Warren Township
 Mike Kane  North Park  OF  Sr.  Chicago, Ill./Northern Illinois University
 Joe Belmonte  North Park  INF  So.  Elk Grove, Ill./Conant
 Johnathan Erickson  Illinois Wesleyan  INF  Jr.  St. Charles, Ill./East
 Vito DeRango  North Central  INF  So.  North Riverside, Ill./Riverside-Brookfield
 Steve Kraynak  Carthage  INF  Jr.  Hinsdale, Ill./Central
 Kyle Pusateri  Carthage  INF  Sr.  Schaumburg, Ill./H.S.
 Nick Schmidlkofer  Carthage  C  So.  Wind Lake, Wis./Muskego
 Brian Marquis  Elmhurst  UT  Sr.  Cary, Ill./Cary-Grove
 Ben Krusen  North Central  P  So.  Glen Ellyn, Ill./Glenbard West
 Wesley Mleziva  North Park  P  So.  Green Bay, Wis./Southeast
 Nick Vidas  North Park  P  Jr.  Chicago, Ill./Oakton Community College

CCIW Player of the Year
Kevin Callahan - Illinois Wesleyan

CCIW Pitcher of the Year
John Munyon - Illinois Wesleyan

CCIW Newcomer of the Year
Michael Kaufman - Wheaton

CCIW Coach of the Year
Dennis Martel - Illinois Wesleyan