Augustana College printing logo

Phi Beta Kappa elects 37 seniors

April  23, 2013

The Augustana Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa has elected 37 senior students to membership.

The Augustana Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa has elected 37 senior students to membership. This national academic honor society recognizes scholarly achievement, character, integrity, and independence of mind. Augustana's chapter, Zeta of Illinois, was established in 1950. Members are elected by faculty. Election is less a reward for past success than a recognition of exceptional promise for future growth and achievement.

New members:

Emma Anderson
Amy Bandman
Claire Behnke
Rebecca Black
Rachel Bruce
Emily Byars
Stephanie Dantino
Kayla Ferguson
Scott Fick
Elizabeth Fisher
Lauren Gebhardt
Anna Groebe
Kai Yin Ho

Benjamin Jenkins
Sarah Kilker
Grace Koleczek
Manisha Kumar
Rachel Lenke
Hannah MacDonald
Nikolaos Maggos
Sierra Makeever
Anna Malysz
Corbin McGhee
Vernon Meidlinger-Chin
Heather Ohde

Douglas Peters
Mallory Potter
Brooke Randazzo
Lynn Reinacher
Amanda Rodriguez
Neal Shipley
Moselle Singh
Justin Smith
Astrid Tello-Rodriguez
Anna Tunnicliff
Alexander Vlastnik
Caitlin Walker

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776 and celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. It has more than half a million members and chapters at 283 American colleges and universities. Invitation to membership is a reflection of outstanding achievement. Only about 10 percent of the nation's institutions of higher learning have Phi Beta Kappa chapters, and only about 10 percent of the arts and sciences graduates of these institutions are selected for Phi Beta Kappa membership.

Sam Schlouch
Senior Communication Director
(309) 794-7833