Augustana College printing logo

February 14, 2013

Records fall as Vikings win own invitational

Junior Taelar Hillyer won the pole vault with a clearance of 12' 2 1/2", which is the second best indoor performance in Augustana history, at the Valentine's Day Invitational on Thursday, February 14.

Coming off the end of the term and a week of finals, the Augustana women's track & field team performed well in winning the Augustana Invitational on Thursday, February 14 at the PepsiCo and Carver facilities. The Vikings won the four-team meet with 92.50 points and in the process broke a school record, a field house record and had a pair of performers move to top three on the all-time lists.

Along the way the 17th ranked Vikings of veteran head coach Fred Whiteside won nine events as they tuned up for the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin championship next weekend in Kenosha, Wisconsin. Finishing behind Augustana's winning point total of 92.50 was St. Ambrose with 81 in second. Ashford (24.50) was third and Mount Mercy (5) took fourth.  

The 3200 relay team of sophomore Lorraine Stamberger (LaMoille HS, LaMoille, Ill.), senior Jennifer Prazak (Naperville North HS, Naperville, Ill.), sophomore Jessica Bacon (Rock Island HS, Rock Island, Ill.) and junior Kristyn Barton (York HS, Elmhurst, Ill.) set a new PepsiCo Center record with a winning time of 9:34.93. Bacon also won the 3000 in 10:38.75 while Stamberger took third in the 600 in 1:46.53.  

Junior Liana Beauchamp (Genoa-Kingston HS, Kingston, Ill.) won the 20-pound weight throw with a new school record toss of 53' 11 ¼". She broke the previous school mark of 52' 2 ½" set by Paula Neiweem in 2009. Beauchamp was also second in the shot put with a distance of 36' 7 ½".  

Junior Kate Benge (Pleasant Valley HS, Bettendorf, Iowa) was a double winner, taking the 600 in 1:39.67 and the 1000 in 3:13.86. Her time in the 600 is the third fastest in Augustana history, trailing only the 1:37.73 of Hannah Hottle in 2011 and the 1:38.87 of Kristy Windy in 1998.  

Junior Taelar Hillyer (Rock Island Alleman HS, Bettendorf, Iowa) won the pole vault with a clearance of 12' 2 ½", which is the second best in school history. Only the school record of 12' 11 ½" by NCAA champion Meghan Voiland in 2007 is better.  

Freshman Rachel Akmakjian (Poudre HS, Fort Collins, Colo.) won the 400 in 1:02.61 and junior Kierra Smith (Creston HS, Creston, Iowa) took the 200 in :27.33. Smith was also second in the 55 hurdles in :08.79. Smith, Benge and Akmakjian teamed with freshman Annie Martines (St. Charles East HS, St. Charles, Ill.) to win the 1600 relay with a time of 4:10.72. Martines added a second place finish in the 200 with a time of :27.76.  

Junior Kelsey Stockert (Peoria Notre Dame HS, Mapleton, Ill.) placed second in the mile (5:36.59) and third in the 1000 (3:23.13). Sophomore Lizzie Lundine (Willowbrook HS, Villa Park, Ill.) was second in the 2000 in 7:09.67. Senior Lauren Hoffman (Wheaton North HS, Winfield, Ill.) took second in the 300 in :44.57 and second in the high jump with a clearance of 4' 9 ½". Freshman Stephanie Sorrentino (York HS, Elmhurst, Ill.) placed second in the 400 (1:02.76) and third in the 300 (:44.60) while sophomore Laura Polizzi (Crystal Lake South HS, Crystal Lake, Ill.) was second in the triple jump (34' 4"). Junior Johanna Schnitzler (Downers Grove South HS, Woodridge, Ill.) placed second in the high jump (4' 9 ½").  

Freshman Kayla Bushey (Luther North HS, Chicago, Ill.) took third in the 200 (:27.92), third in the long jump (15' 9 ½") and third in the triple jump (34' 0 ¼"). Freshman Annie Heifner (Oregon HS, Oregon, Wis.) finished third in the mile in 5:40.48. Freshman Hana Lobsinger (Wheaton-Warrenville South HS, Wheaton, Ill.) took third in the 2000 (7:15.01) and freshman Danielle Engel (St. Charles North HS, St. Charles, Ill.) was third in the pole vault (9' 9"). Senior Samantha Bazely (Rock Island Alleman HS, Coal Valley, Ill.) placed third in the triple jump with a leap of 34' 0 ¼".