Augustana College printing logo

July 18, 2012

2011-12 Season - Augustana teams earn Scholar All America honors

Austin Zarbuck led the men's swimming and diving team to a collective 3.38 GPA.

The College Swimming Coaches Association of America has announced its 2012 Scholar All America teams and both the Augustana Vikings men's and women's swimming and diving teams were selected. Both Viking teams are led by head coach Scott Johannsen.

Johannsen's women's squad, which featured 11 College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin academic all-conference performers, compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.20. They were one of 129 Division III teams to receive the honor from the CSCAA. The Augustana men, who had three academic all-conference selections, ranked 18th of 83 Division III teams honored with a collective GPA of 3.38.

The Viking women were one of six teams from the CCIW that earned Scholar All America honors, while the men were one of five CCIW squads recognized. The Augustana men had the highest cumulative GPA of any of the CCIW schools that were honored.
On the women's side, the Vikings were led by academic all-conference selections Beth Cole (Muscatine HS, Muscatine, Iowa), Danielle Harrington (Belvidere North, Belvidere, Ill.), Danna Jensen (Dundee Crown HS, Algonquin, Ill.), Hollyann Kabbe (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.), Helen Myers (Pecatonica HS, Rock City, Ill.), Mary Naughton (Fremont HS, Freemont, Neb.), Ariana Nelson (Resurrection HS, Chicago, Ill.), Elizabeth O'Hara (Westosha Central HS, Salem, Wis.), Alexandra Piper (Coal City HS, Coal City, Ill.), Catherine Pittman (Mahomet-Seymour HS, Mahomet, Ill.), and Emily Timmons (West Aurora HS, North Aurora, Ill.). Academic all-conference performers for the men were Chris Greaves (Morris HS, Morris, Ill.), Jasen Hengst (Bettendorf HS, Bettendorf, Iowa), and Austin Zarbuck (Urbana HS, Urbana, Ill.).