Augustana College printing logo

May 18, 2012

2012 Season - Nine event winners at Augie Twilight

Freshman Kyle Bennetthandled the second leg on the Vikings' winning 1600 relay that clocked 3:13.39 at the Augie Twilight Qualifier on Friday, May 18. He also was third in the 400 intermediate hurdles.

ROCK ISLAND, Ill. - In the final tune-up prior to the NCAA Division III national meet at Claremont-Harvey-Mudd-Scripps College, the Augustana men put on quite a show at the Augie Twilight Qualifier on Friday, May 18 at Paul V. Olsen Track. The Vikings won a total of nine events and were especially impressive in winning both relays.

The 400 relay of freshman David Devore (Midland HS, Midland, Mich.), junior Greg Patton (Bloomington HS, Bloomington, Ill.), freshman Keith Cline (Byron HS, Byron, Ill.) and junior Alex Rindone (Marmion Academy, Geneva, Ill.) zipped to a time of :41.08. That is the fastest time of the year for that group and just :00.08 off the Augustana school record.

The 1600 relay also won and the unit of senior Greg Davis (Carlinville HS, Carlinville, Ill.), Kyle Bennett (Davenport West HS, Davenport, Iowa), junior Daniel Doubet (Galesburg HS, Galesburg, Ill.) and Patton clocked a time of 3:13.39.

Rindone won the 200 in :21.65 while Cline was third in :22.04 after he finished fourth in the 100 in :11.20. Davis won the 110 high hurdles in :15.56 and placed second in the 400 intermediates in :53.09. Patton finished third in the 400 in :48.26. Bennet ran :54.13 and took third in the 400 intermediate hurdles.

Freshman David Voland (Batavia HS, Batavia, Ill.) ripped off a :51.56 to win the 400 intermediate hurdles and was second in the 110 high hurdles at :15.78.

Junior Justin Smith (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.) won the 1500 in 3:51.76. Freshman Torre Harrell (Bloomington HS, Bloomington, Ill.) took the long jump with a leap of 23' 4" and sophomore Andrew Allabastro (Lyons Township HS, LaGrange, Ill.) won the 3000 steeplechase in 10:09.7. Freshman Vincenzo Dal Pozzo (Neuqua Valley HS, Naperville, Ill.) won the 800 in 1:53.08.

Junior Nathan Smith (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.) placed second in the steeplechase in 10:15.4 and freshman Andrew Brimeyer (Dubuque Senior HS, Dubuque, Iowa) placed second in the 5000 in 15:57.35. Freshman Josh Prosser (Eureka HS, Goodfield, Ill.) took second in the high jump with a leap of 6' 3 ¼".

Freshman Jeff Padesky (Moline HS, Moline, Ill.) was third in the pole vault with a clearance of 14' 9". Junior Tommy Harris (Davenport Assumption HS, Davenport, Iowa) placed third in the 1500 in 4:08.97 and sophomore Josh Eisenberg (Richmond-Burton HS, Spring Grove, Ill.) was third in the 110 high hurdles in :16.79. Junior Floyd Mays (Mooseheart HS, Justice, Ill.) finished third in the 100 in :11.19 and freshman Grant Bell (Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa HS, Belgrade, Minn.) took third in the 5000 in 15:58.91.

Sophomore Alex Stockwell (Glenbard West HS, Glen Ellyn, Ill.) was fourth in the 1500 in 4:10.23 while sophomore Isaac Trostle (Willowbrook HS, Lombard, Ill.) finished fourth in the 5000 in 16:36.78. Senior Brett Bernatowicz (Downers Grove North HS, Downers Grove, Ill.) took fourth in the pole vault by clearing 13' 9 ¼".

Sophomore Jay Graffagna (Geneva HS, LaFox, Ill.) was fifth in the 100 in :11.26 and sophomore Chris Madison (Downers Grove South HS, Downers Grove, Ill.) took fifth in the 800 in 1:58.61. Senior Marty King (Oswego HS, Oswego, Ill.) placed fifth in the 400 intermediate hurdles in :57.51 and freshman Andrew Lulis (Lake Zurich HS, Lake Zurich, Ill.) was fifth in the pole vault at 13' 9 ¼".