Class notes through 1989

(received as of November 31, 2011)


Norman Pastorek was listed as one of the best doctors in America by U.S. News and World Report and one of the top doctors in America by Castle-Connolly Medical in 2011.


William Kempiners received the Illinois Public Health Association 2011 honorary emeritus award, which is presented to retired individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the public health movement.


Duane Dawson was presented a special Outstanding Center of Influence Award by the Illinois National Guard.


Karen Schultz Jacobson recently participated in a People to People Delegation for Women in Accounting in Russia, visiting Moscow, St. Petersburg and Novgorod.


Timothy Lomperis' book, The Vietnam War from the Rear Echelon, was published by University Press of Kansas.

Dan Reynolds serves as treasurer of Prevent Child Abuse Arizona.


Gail Butler Olson's Village in the City: The History of St. Anthony Village, Minnesota was commissioned by the St. Anthony Village Historical Society and published by Soulo Communications, Minneapolis. She also co-wrote New Brighton, Minnesota's 30-cast member centennial musical, Tales, Ties, and Tallow.


Rich Blazevich retired after 36 years of teaching high school-level history.

David McLean, a captain for American Airlines, retired after more than 26 years of service.



Carol Noren was guest editor of the November 2011 issue of the ecumenical journal LITURGY, focusing on resources for preaching and worship in times of crisis.


Rachel Bergeson received the Clifford B. Reifler Award from the New York College Health Association for excellence in leadership in college health.

Bunny Husted Hughes received the M.Div. from North Park Theological Seminary and now serves in the Covenant Church.

Mark Schersten was named dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Siena Heights University, Adrian, Mich., where he has taught philosophy for the past 27 years.


Susan Senft Clark was promoted to manager of compensation, benefits and human resources information systems for Allen Health System, Waterloo, Iowa.

Bruce Kaldheim is a business analyst for Targa Resources, Houston, Texas.


Nancy Steuben Hawfield is a speech language therapist for children at Dream Catchers, The Cori Sikich Therapeutic Riding Center, Williamsburg, Va.


Jed Poust retired after 33 years of teaching in the Moline (Ill.) School District.


Matthew Lindquist is a nurse practitioner in psychiatry and mental health at Psych Care Consultants, St. Louis, Mo.



Deborah Carlson is elected president-elect of the American Academy of Audiology and will assume the presidency in July 2012.


Jane Dalton is director and assistant professor of art education at Maine College of Art, Portland.

Brent Nelson was promoted to vice president of finance for the Bruker Nano Surfaces Division of Bruker Corp.


Lynne Rabuse teaches Spanish, Hispanic culture and English at Minnesota S.E. Tech, Winona, Minn.

Ann Schotka Schneider was named acting transportation secretary of the Illinois Department of Transportation.


Andrew Varney, professor of internal medicine at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in Springfield, was selected to receive the Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award from the American College of Graduate Medical Education.

Walter Verdooren was named director of foundation relationships at Feeding America, Chicago.


John Buric was reappointed as a Superior Court Judge Pro Tem in Phoenix, Ariz.


Kimberly Ulanski Olms is accounting manager and business analyst for HSBC, Mettawa, Ill.