Augustana College printing logo

Leadership honor society inducts 38 students

January  16, 2012

Thirty-eight students were initiated Sunday into the Augustana Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society founded in 1914.

The ceremony was held at the Butterworth Center in Moline. Dean of the College Dr. Pareena spoke and congratulated the students.

Omicron Delta Kappa recognizes students who do excellent academic work (above a 3.4 GPA) and demonstrate leadership in co- and extra-curricular activities. No more than 3 percent of a school's enrollment may be elected into the local circle. Omicron Delta Kappa recognizes and promotes accomplishments in the areas of academics, athletics, service, social and religious activities, campus government, journalism, speech, mass media, and creative and performing arts.

Dr. Norm Moline, Hamming Professor of Geography. is the faculty secretary to Augustana ODK Circle.

Seniors inducted on Sunday include Martha Ade, Heidi Maibuecher, John Cairns, Patrick Nelson, Megan Carter, Justine Marie Majia Nuguid, Davis Frease, William Patterson, Katherine Girard, Amy Sanders, Samantha Haake, Samantha Tyner, Andrew Heidtke, Melissa Lanen, Tyler Henning, Jason Wagner and Gaetano Iaccarino.

Juniors include Maggie Barnes, Rachel Lenke, Colleen Bartimoccia, Anna Malysz, Joe Bright, Alexander Mayszak, Theresa Caverick, Alicia Oken, Marisa Crater, Devon Pace, Bailey Eilering, Reeya Patel, Scott Fick, Eric Pease, Lindsay Guinand, Lynn Reinacher, Caitilin Harbecke, Nathan Smith, Rabia Jawed, Emily Timmons and Alex Kurian

Seniors elected last year include Stephanie Aeschliman, Jessica Aldis, Michelle Anderson, Amanda Beveroth, Courtney Brown, Genevieve Conrath, Lindsay Croegaert, Katherine Devore, Danielle Feldhaus, Robert Flynn, Morgan Gale, Margarent Hayes, Jessica Leff, Amy Moon, Janelle Nestor, Matthew Paris, Emily Petersen, Ly Pham, Martha Rothchild, Jacquelyn Schmidt, Kristen Schweppe, Veronica Smith, Theodore Teros and Jennifer Youngs.

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded Dec. 3, 1914, at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Va. Since its founding, Omicron Delta Kappa has initiated more than 300,000 members nationally. Augustana's circle started in 1962.