Augustana College printing logo

November 12, 2011

2011 Season - Vikings seventh, Tisza 15th at Midwest Regional

Mike Tisza (10) took 15th place Saturday at the NCAA Midwest Regional at Saukie Golf Course in Rock Island, Illinois. Running with Tisza are Brian Pollastrini (4), Justin Smith (6), Nathan Smith (7), Billy TenBusch (9) and Jonathan Smith (5). The Vikings finished seventh in the 39-team field.

ROCK ISLAND, Ill. - Senior Mike Tisza (Hersey HS, Prospect Heights, Ill.) ran a 25:21.4 over 8,000 meters at Saukie Golf Course Saturday to finish 15th individually and lead the Augustana men's cross country team to a seventh-place finish at the NCAA Midwest Regional. Tisza's performance moves him on to next Saturday's national meet at Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

 Matthew Perez of North Central was the individual winner, finishing in 24:41.7. His performance helped lead the Cardinals to the team championship with 42 points. Michael Burnstein led Washington University (114 points) to a second-place finish, running a 24:54.9 to finish second individually as well. Wisconsin-Stout's Tim Nelson was third individually in 24:59.1.

 Augustana junior Jonathan Smith (Moline HS, Moline, Ill.) finished 31st with a time of 25:42.0. The Viking contingent also included senior Billy TenBusch (Prairie Ridge HS, Cary, Ill.), who was 45th in 26:01.7, junior Brian Pollastrini (York HS, Elmhurst, Ill.), who ran a 48th-place 26:07.4 and junior Justin Smith (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.), who finished 64th with a time of 26:21.6.

 Senior Thomas Christian (Port Angeles HS, Port Angeles, Wash.) and junior Nathan Smith (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.) rounded out the Augustana competitors. Christian (26:48.5) was 90th while Smith's time of 27:07.4 was good for 108th.

 After North Central (42) and Washington (114) in the teams standings, came Wisconsin-Oshkosh, which finished third with 136 points. Wisconsin-LaCrosse was fourth with 141, followed by Wheaton with 151, Wisconsin-Stevens Points with 190 and Augustana with 203. Wisconsin-Platteville (205), the University of Chicago (217) and Wisconsin-Whitewater (289) rounded out the top ten.

 The NCAA Division III national meet will be hosted by Wisconsin-Oshkosh on Saturday, November 19 at noon.