Augustana College printing logo

October 29, 2011

2011-12 Season - Women's swimming impressive in win over Millikin

Augustana won 10 of 13 events in a 146-74 defeat of Millikin on Saturday, October 29 to open the 2011-12 women's swimming & diving season.

Augustana opened the 2011-12 women’s swimming & diving season with an impressive 146-74 dual meet victory over Millikin on Saturday, October 29 in the Roy J. Carver Pool. The Vikings of fourth year head coach Scott Johannsen won a total of 10 of 13 events and had seven different individual winners on the day.

Sophomores Hillary Ferguson (Waubonsie Valley HS, Naperville, Ill.) and Helen Myers (Pecatonica HS, Rock City, Ill.) were both double winners in individual events. Ferguson won the 50 freestyle in :26.16 and the 100 freestyle in :59.01 and for good measure anchored the 200 freestyle relay to victory in a time of 1:50.15. She was joined on that unit by junior captain Molly Clennon (Benet Academy, Naperville, Ill.), freshman Laura Pemberton (Fremont HS, Fremont, Neb.) and sophomore Erin Doty (Oswego HS, Oswego, Ill.).

Myers won the one meter diving with a score of 200.63 while she took the three meter diving with a final point total of 184.58.

Pemberton won the 100 breaststroke in 1:18.32 and took third in the 200 freestyle in 2:13.90. Clennon scored a victory in the 200 freestyle (2:08.75) and was second in the 500 freestyle (5:54.78).  Doty took second in the 1000 freestyle (12:14.72) and was third in the 500 freestyle (1:21.27).

Junior Emily Timmons (West Aurora HS, North Aurora, Ill.) won the 1000 freestyle in 12:04.82 and was second in the 100 backstroke in 1:13.90. Junior captain Emma Regnier (Grayslake North HS, Lake Villa, Ill.) won the 200 individual medley with a time of 2:27.25 and placed third in the 100 butterfly in 1:08.42. Junior Hollyann Kabbe (Fenton HS, Bensenville, Ill.) took first in the 100 backstroke at 1:12.46.

The 200 medley relay team of Kabbe, sophomore Elizabeth O’Hara (Wetosha Central HS, Salem, Wis.), Regnier and Timmons finished second in 2:06.50.