Augustana College printing logo

2012 Season - 2004 Women's Track Review, Outdoor


Freshman Meghan Voiland earns NCAA Division III All-American honor in pole vault; Voiland, Jennifer Paul, Manda Geerts and Kim Nelson share MVP honors; Vikings place second in CCIW championship and win team titles in Early Spring Opener, Viking Olympics and Midwest Championships; Four new school records are set in 2004

It was another superb year in women’s track & field at Augustana College as the Vikings of veteran head coach Fred Whiteside picked up an All-American, a pair of individual conference championships, two individual and two relay school records, three team titles in invitationals and a second place finish in the CCIW.

Freshman Meghan Voiland (Yorkville HS, Yorkville, IL) placed seventh in the pole vault at the NCAA Division III national track & field championship on May 27 at Millikin University in Decatur, Illinois. Voiland cleared 11’ 8 ½”, which was actually the same height as the fourth place finisher. It was the second All-American finish of the year for Voiland. She was fourth in the pole vault in the NCAA Division III indoor championship in March.

Voiland qualified for the national meet with a clearance of 12’ 0” in Macomb, Illinois at the Western Illinois Open on May 1. She also met the qualifying standard in the triple jump and the 100 hurdles but did not compete in those events at the national meet. She jumped 37’ 5” in the triple jump at the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin championships on May 8 in Bloomington, Illinois. Her qualifying mark in the 100 hurdles was a time of :14.87 she turned in at the Truman State Invitational on March 27.

Senior Jennifer Paul (Davenport North HS, Davenport, IA) finished fifth in her heat of the 800 with a time of 2:16.21 but did not advance to the finals. She also qualified in the 1500 with a time of 4:40.09 at the Dr. Keeler Invitational in Naperville, Illinois on May 14 but only ran the 800 at the national meet. Her best time of the year in the 800 was 2:14.08 at the Midwest Championships on her home track on May 21.

Senior Carol Reif (Immaculate Heart of Mary HS, Westchester, IL) finished 10th in the javelin with a toss of 128’ 10”. She qualified for the national meet with a toss of 133’ 5” at the Dr. Keeler Invitational in Naperville, Illinois on May 13.

Senior Manda Geerts (Morrison HS, Morrison, IL) was under the qualifying time in the 400 hurdles with her school record 1:03.85 turned in at the CCIW meet in Bloomington, Illinois on May 8 but was not selected to compete in the national meet. The 1600 relay team of Paul, Geerts, senior Kim Nelson (Stark County HS, Lafayette, IL) and Laura Kendall (Glenbard West HS, Glen Ellyn, IL) also qualified for the national meet with a time of 3:57.58 on May 21 at home in the Midwest Championships but that mark was not good enough to make the field.

Reif won her third straight CCIW title in the javelin on May 8 in Bloomington, Illinois when she recorded a toss of 129’ 8”. Voiland won the pole vault with a leap of 10’ 6 ¾”.

Four school records, two individual and two relay, fell during the season. Geerts ran 1:03.85 in the 400 intermediate hurdles, taking down the old mark of 1:03.87 set by Patti Wenig in 1990 by just two one-hundredths of a second. Voiland’s 12’ 0” clearance in the pole vault broke the only record of 11’ 8 ½” set by Kim Baier in 2001. The hurdle shuttle relay team of Theresa Suwannapal (Winnebago HS, Winnebago, IL), Kendall, Trina Kainz (Kaneland HS, Elburn, IL) and Voiland ran 1:03.38 at the Drake Relays in April 24 to break the record of 1:03.56 established in 2003 by the team of Tracy Skibitzki, Elyce Kluz, Jordana Taylor and Kendall. The distance medley team of Paul, Geerts, Karina Carson (Pleasant Valley HS, Bettendorf, IA) and Melanie Round (Rock Island HS, Rock Island, IL) ran 12:18.47 at the Drake Relays to erase the record of 12:29.93 held by Katie King, Jacqueline Bowden, Kristy Windy and Rachel Knapp from 1995.

Paul, Geerts, Nelson and Voiland shared the Most Valuable Performer award in a vote of their teammates at the end of the season.

Voiland was selected as the Most Valuable Freshman and the Most Improved Athlete honor was shared by Jeanna Dalton (Dixon HS, Dixon, IL), Karina Carson (Pleasant Valley HS, Bettendorf, IA), Laura Meyer (Hononegah HS, Roscoe, IL) and Angie Morgenthal (Wheeling HS, Wheeling, IL).

The Erica Vortman Viking Award went to Paul, Katie Tracey (Princeton HS, Princeton, IL) and Dalton. Paul, Geerts, Nelson and Carol Reif (Immaculate Heart of Mary HS, Westchester, IL) were honored team captains. The 2005 captains-elect will be Tara Franck (Rock Island HS, Rock Island, IL), Desiree Butcher (Bishop McNamara HS, Wilmington, IL) and Erin Marciniec (Benet Academy, Plainfield, IL).

Augustana finished the 2004 season with another tremendous campaign, placing second in the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin championship on May 8 in Bloomington, Illinois. The Vikings of veteran head coach Fred Whiteside scored 154 points, 32 behind Carthage’s winning total of 185. The Blue & Gold won the 14 team Viking Olympics on April 3, the eight team Early Spring Opener on March 20 and the 16 team Midwest Championships on May 21. Augustana was third in the 15 team Augustana Invitational on April 17 and third in the nine team Monmouth Invitational on April 20. Against mostly division one competition on May 1 in the Western Illinois Open the Vikings placed a solid fourth out of eight teams.

May 7-8, 2004
Titan Stadium at Illinois Wesleyan University
Bloomington, Illinois

1. Carthage 186
2. Augustana 154
3. Illinois Wesleyan 143
4. North Central 125
5. Wheaton 108
6. Millikin 50
7. North Park 26
8. Elmhurst 25

100 Muffy Israel Carthage :11.82
200 Muffy Israel Carthage :24.81
400 Gianina Taylor Illinois Wesleyan :55.55
800 Jessica Elsen Wheaton 2:17.41
1500 Jessica Griffin North Central 4:45.74
5000 Jesi Christiansen Wheaton 18:34.89
10,000 Erin Brice Elmhurst 39:28.59
100 Hurdles Sheana Grigsby Carthage :14.16
400 Hurdles Sheana Grigsby Carthage 1:01.44
3000 Steeplechase Melinda Sprague Illinois Wesleyan 11:16.07
400 Relay  Illinois Wesleyan :47.79
1600 Relay  Illinois Wesleyan 3:56.34
Long Jump Missa Harden Illinois Wesleyan 18’ 1 ¼”
High Jump Kristin Marquardt Carthage 5’ 2 ½”
Triple Jump Angie Hawk Millikin 37’ 10 ¾”
Pole Vault Meghan Voiland Augustana 10’ 6 ¾”
Shot Kara Hoxworth Wheaton 40’ 8 ¼”
Discus Jenny Schloz Illinois Wesleyan 130’ 3”
Javelin Carol Reif Augustana 129’ 8”
Hammer Jackie Ribbich Carthage 129’ 1”
Heptathlon Susanna Craven Carthage 4,296

NCAA DIVISION III ALL-AMERICAN – Meghan Voiland in pole vault
COSIDA ACADEMIC ALL-DISTRICT – Manda Geerts (1st team) & Liz Yemm (2nd team)
MOST VALUABLE PERFORMER – Jennifer Paul, Manda Geerts, Kim Nelson & Meghan Voiland
MOST IMPROVED PERFORMER – Jeanna Dalton, Karina Carson, Laura Meyer & Angie Morgenthal
ERICA VORTMAN VIKING AWARD – Jennifer Paul, Katie Tracey & Jeanna Dalton
CAPTAIN ELECT – Tara Franck, Desire Butcher & Erin Marciniec
NCAA DIVISION III NATIONAL MEET QUALIFIERS – Meghan Voiland (triple jump, pole vault, 100 hurdles), Carol Reif (javelin), Jennifer Paul (800, 1500, 1600 relay), Manda Geerts (400 hurdles, 1600 relay), Kim Nelson (1600 relay) & Laura Kendall (1600 relay).
CCIW INDIVIDUAL CHAMPION – Meghan Voiland (pole vault) & Carol Reif (javelin)
SCHOOL RECORD 400 HURDLES – Manda Geerts, 1:03.85
SCHOOL RECORD POLE VAULT – Meghan Voiland, 12’ 0”
SCHOOL RECORD HURDLE SHUTTLE RELAY – Theresa Suwannapal, Laura Kendall, Trina Kainz & Meghan Voiland, 1:03.38
SCHOOL RECORD DISTANCE MEDLEY – Jennifer Paul, Manda Geerts, Karina Carson & Melanie Round, 12:18.47