Augustana College printing logo

2012 Season - 2003 Women's Track Review, Indoor




Jennifer Smith named Most Valuable Performer as Vikings place

third in CCIW indoor meet; Smith sets new school record in 2000 meters


Middle distance runner Jennifer Smith (Davenport North HS, Davenport, IA) enjoyed a tremendous indoor season, accounting for the lone Augustana school record during the 2003 campaign. She ran 2000 meters in 6:51.8 in the Augustana Open on January 23 at the PepsiCo Center, breaking the old record of 7:05.54 set by Lauren Habenicht in 2001. Smith also owned the best time on the Augustana team in no fewer than six individual events (600, 800, 1000, 1500, 2000 & 3000). For her effort she was the logical winner of the team’s Most Valuable Performer award.


Augustana finished the season with a third place finish in the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin championship, which was held at Illinois Wesleyan University in Bloomington, Illinois on March 1. Carthage won the meet with 174.5 points while Illinois Wesleyan placed second with 133 and the Vikings took third with 105.5. North Central (90), Wheaton (58), Millikin (39), Elmhurst (36) and North Park (29) rounded out the field.


In the CCIW meet four individual second place finishes and one runner-up relay team helped pave the way for Fred Whiteside’s team. Becca Parker (Moline HS, Moline, IL) was second in the 20 pound weight toss with a throw of 43’ 6”. Casey Jacobs (Freeport HS, Freeport, IL) placed second in the high jump with a clearance of 5’ 0 ½”. Manda Geerts (Morrison HS, Morrison, IL) was the runner-up in the pole vault with a height of 10’ 6 ¼” and Smith took second in the 1500 in 4:48.53. The 3200 relay team of Emily Roling (Dubuque Wahlert HS, Dubuque, IA), Jennifer Vortman (Kewanee Wethersfield HS, Kewanee, IL), Jaclyn Swan (Sherrard HS, Sherrard, IL) and Erin VanWetzinga (Rockford Lutheran HS, Rockford, IL) was second with a time of 9:44.07.


During the season the Vikings won the Midwest Pentangular on February 1 in Galesburg, Illinois. They also defeated Wisconsin-Oshkosh in a dual meet for the second year in a row, 91-87 on January 18 in Oshkosh, Wisconsin. The Blue & Gold placed second at the Knox Invitational on February 22 and third in the CCIW/UAA Challenge on February 15.


Besides Smith winning the MVP, she also shared the Erica Vortman Viking award for spirit with Erin VanWetzinga (Rockford Lutheran HS, Rockford, IL). Jessica Corvo (Downers Grove North HS, Downers Grove, IL) and Casey Jacobs (Freeport HS, Freeport, IL) were the co-winners of the Most Valuable Freshman trophy. Vortman, Swan and Julie Cassata (Plainfield HS, Plainfield, IL) won the Most Improved Performer honor. The team captains for the indoor season were Parker, Tracy Skibitzki (Badger HS, Lake Geneva, IL), Jordana Taylor (Michigan City HS, Michigan City, IN), Van Wetzinga and Devon Morrison (Highlands Ranch HS, Highlands Ranch, CO).



SCHOOL RECORD: Jennifer Smith in 2000 with time of 6:51.8 (old record 7:05.54 by Lauren Habenicht in 2001)

NCAA DIVISION III NATIONAL MEET QUALIFIERS: Tracy Skibitzki – 55 hurdles; Elyce Kluz – 55 hurdles; Manda Geerts – pole vault & Lindsey Mathias – pole vault.

TEAM MVP – Jennifer Smith

MOST VALUABLE FRESHMAN – Jessica Corvo & Casey Jacobs

VIKING AWARD WINNER – Jennifer Smith & Erin VanWetzinga

MOST IMPROVED – Jennifer Vortman, Jaclyn Swan & Julie Cassata

TEAM CAPTAINS – Becca Parker, Tracy Skibitzki, Jordana Taylor, Erin VanWetzinga & Devon Morrison



March 1, 2003 ** Illinois Wesleyan University ** Bloomington, Illinois – Shirk Center

TEAM SCORES: 1. Carthage 173.5; 2. Illinois Wesleyan 132; 3. Augustana 104.5; 4. North Central 89; 5. Wheaton 59; 6. Millikin 39; 7. Elmhurst 36; 8. North Park 29.



55 – Muffy Israel, Carthage :07.10

200 – Muffy Israel, Carthage :25.20

400 – Gena Rawlins, Illinois Wesleyan :56.54

800 – Gianina Taylor, Illinois Wesleyan 2:20.69

1500 – Molly Morrison, North Central 4:45.63

5000 – Molly Morrison, North Central 17:45.24

55 Hurdles – Sheana Grigsby, Carthage :08.36

800 Relay – Illinois Wesleyan (Nicole Williams, Michelle Dionne, Gena Rawlins, Gianina Taylor) 1:42.32

1600 Relay -  Carthage (Muffy Israel, Susanna Craven, Sheana Grigsby, Latrice Powell) 3:54.28

3200 Relay – Carthage (Lori Ray, Natalie Widaman, Brandi Heinz, Andrea Frey) 9:42.27

Distance Medley – North Central (Christine Holl, Jane King, Diana Locasio, Molly Morrison) 10:15.93

High Jump – Molly May, Illinois Wesleyan 5’ 3”

Pole Vault – Amy Peters, Elmhurst 11’ 7”

Long Jump – Lucia Abel, North Park 17’ 10 ¼”

Triple Jump – Angie Hawk, Millikin 38’ 1 ¼”

Shot – Ernesta McVeigh, Carthage 38’ 2 ¾”

20 Pound Weight – Tiffany Farrier, Carthage 45’ 9”

MOST OUTSTANDING PERFORMER: Melissa Harden, Illinois Wesleyan