Augustana College printing logo

September 30, 2011

2011 Season - Vikings win Coe Invitational

Freshman Stephanie Burbidge placed fifth to help lead Augustana to an impressive victory at the Lamb-Kohawk Invitational on Friday, September 30.

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - Despite competing without number one runner Sarahbeth Jones (Warren Township HS, Wadsworth, Ill.), Augustana was impressive in winning the Lamb-Kohawk Invitational on Friday, September 30 at Jones Park in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. The Vikings put five runners in the individual top 10 en route to scoring 31 points to win the four team affair. Following Augustana was Mount Mercy with 49, Coe with 68 and the Coe Alumni team with 89.

Freshman Becca Sund (Palatine HS, Palatine, Ill.) led Augustana with a second place finish and a time of 19:41. Another freshman, Stephanie Burbidge (Palatine HS, Palatine, Ill.) took fifth with a time of 20:07. Sophomore Kristyn Barton (York HS, Elmhurst, Ill.) placed sixth in 20:23 and junior Theresa Coverick (Stagg HS, Palos Park, Ill.) was eighth in 20:37. Junior Tara Bistry (Joliet Catholic HS, Shorewood, Ill.) was also in the top 10 with a 10th place finish of 20:42.

Freshman Jessica Bacon (Rock Island HS, Rock Island, Ill.) placed 12th in 20:57 and junior Kirstillyn Pohlman (Zion-Benton HS, Winthrop Harbor, Ill.) was 16th in 21:05.

Keelie Finnel of Coe won the individual title with a time of 19:33.

Augustana will compete on Saturday, October 8 at the St. Ambrose Invitational at Crow Creek Park in Bettendorf, Iowa.