Augustana College printing logo

September 16, 2011

2011 Season - Vikings take ninth at Illinois Intercollegiates

Freshman Becca Sund ran an 18:47 to finish 42nd at the Illinois Intercollegiate Championships Friday in Normal, Illinois. Her performance helped the Vikings finish 9th in a 28-team field.

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. - With junior Sarahbeth Jones (Warren Township HS, Wadsworth, Ill.) continuing to shine, Augustana turned in another solid effort in women's cross country on Friday, September 16. Competing in the 28-team Illinois Intercollegiate Championships at the Illinois State Golf Course in Bloomington, Illinois, the Vikings of veteran head coach Fred Whiteside took ninth with 279 points.

 Once again it was Jones leading the way. She was 24th with a time of 18:33 and would have been eighth individually once the NCAA Division I runners were removed from the results.

 Freshman Becca Sund (Palatine HS, Palatine, Ill.) placed 42nd with a time of 18:47 and junior Tara Bistry (Joliet Catholic HS, Shorewood, Ill.) was 77th in 19:26. Freshman Stephanie Burbidge (Palatine HS, Palatine, Ill.) took 82nd in 19:32 and junior Theresa Coverick (Stagg HS, Palos Park, Ill.) rounded out the top five for the Vikings by taking 90th in 19:46.

 Junior Annie Heifner (Oregon HS, Oregon, Wis.) finished 96th in 19:56 and freshman Jessica Bacon (Rock Island HS, Rock Island, Ill.) was 99th in 19:58.

 Illinois State won the meet with 21 points while Bradley (103), Loyola (106), Eastern Illinois (120) and Chicago (139) rounded out the top five. Olivet Nazarene was sixth with 140, North Central took seventh with 206 and Illinois Wesleyan was eighth with 279. Augustana actually tied for ninth with St. Francis as both teams had 279 points.

 Amongst the top 10 teams, four were NCAA Division I (Illinois State, Bradley, Loyola, Eastern Illinois), two were NAIA scholarship schools (Olivet Nazarene & St. Francis) and four were NCAA Division III (Augustana, Chicago, North Central and Illinois Wesleyan).

 Illinois State's Krista Deceault was the individual winner with a time of  17:09 over the 5000 meter course.

 Augustana will host the Brissman-Lundeen Invitational on Friday, September 23 at Saukie Golf Course in Rock Island.