Augustana College printing logo

August 3, 2011

2011 Season - Vikings picked for second in CCIW Women's Soccer

Megan Mummert and her Augustana teammates have been picked to finish second in the 2011 CCIW women's soccer race, according to a vote of the conference coaches. The Vikings were 13-2-5 a year ago and advanced to the NCAA Division III national tournament for the fourth time since 2005.

Coach Scott Mejia’s Augustana Vikings have been pegged for second place in this year’s College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin pre-season soccer coaches’ poll. The Vikings received 40 points in the poll, which tied them with Illinois Wesleyan for second place. Defending league champion Wheaton was picked to repeat, with 49 points and seven first-place votes. Augustana got the remaining first-place nod.

Mejia is entering his 11th season at Augustana, where he’s compiled a 137-49-16 (.718) record, including 45-18-7 (.692) in CCIW play with a conference championship in 2009. He returns 24 letter winners and all 11 starters from last year’s club, which went 13-2-5 overall, finished third in the CCIW at 4-1-2 and earned an NCAA tournament berth. Chief among the returnees are first team All-CCIW selections junior Taylor Moesle (Sandburg HS, Orland Park, Ill.) and seniors Kayla Radloff (West Chicago HS, West Chicago, Ill.) and Megan Mummert (Crawfordsville, HS, Crawfordsville, Ind.). Moesle, a midfielder, was a first team All-America pick by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. She and midfielder Mummert were both first team NSCAA all-region selections while Radloff, the Vikings’ goalkeeper, was second team all-region.

Elmhurst, with 28 points, finished fourth in the poll. Millikin was fifth with 21 points, followed by North Park (17), Carthage (15) and North Central (14).

Augustana opens its 2011 season on Thursday, September 1 at 7:00 p.m. The Vikings will be hosting the Wartburg Knights in the first event held at Thorson-Lucken Field, the school’s new venue for soccer and lacrosse.



1st place votes

1. Wheaton






2. Illinois Wesleyan



4. Elmhurst



5. Millikin



6. North Park



7. Carthage



8. North Central