Class notes through 1989

(received as of May 31, 2011)


Nils Hanson's biography, Lillian Lorraine: The Life and Times of a Ziegfeld Diva, was published by McFarland Publishing.


Ron Veburg received the National Retired Teachers Association's 2010 national "With Our Youth" dedication award in recognition of his 700-plus hours of volunteering with children's groups and families.


Phil Hubbart's book, An Iowa Soldier Writes Home: The Civil War Letters of Union Private Daniel J. Parvin was published by Carolina Academic Press. The book is an edited collection of 117 letters written by Hubbart's great-great-grandfather.


Lee Brown retired from Baker College, Cadillac, Mich., after 17 years as a professor of English. He received the Paul Harris Fellow award from the Cadillac Rotary for outstanding community service.

Terry Shockley was inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association's Division III Hall of Fame.


Bill Moorcroft co-authored the article "Comorbid Insomnia: Reciprocal Relationships and Medication Management," which was published in Sleep Medicine Clinics in December 2010.


Annette Strom Doughty retired after 32 years as a teaching assistant for the Brimfield (Ill.) School District.

Ken Kuehnle, partner in the firm of Allen Kuehnle Stovall & Newman, Columbus, Ohio, was included in the top 100 of the 2011 Ohio Super Lawyers.

John Puotinen is vice president for advancement and executive director of the Foundation at the Lutheran Theological Seminary, Philadelphia, Pa.


Karen Schultz Jacobson participated in a People to People delegation for Women in Accounting.

Scott Petersen is on the board of directors of Ministry Mentors, a not-for-profit corporation that provides mentoring and coaching to ordained clergy from nearly a dozen denominations.

Karen Carlstrom Thompson received the 2010 High School Teacher of the Year award from the Scottsdale (Ariz.) Mayor's Committee on Employment of People with Disabilities.


Sandra Pence is senior appraiser and owner of Pence Heritage Personal Property Appraisals, Athens, Ga.

Paul Thome was appointed president of the Sallie Mae Bank, which originates and funds private education loans nationwide.


Linda Frostholm Yon recently retired from Florida public school service after 35 years as a speech/language pathologist.


Brenda Seago received the Ph.D. degree in public policy and administration from Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, where she is an associate professor.


W. Mark Anderson retired after more than 33 years of public service for the State of Illinois.

Daniel Gottschling, a cell biologist in the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center's Basic Sciences Division, was elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences. Being elected is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a U.S. scientist.


Paul Dennhardt was recognized as a master teacher and master fight director by Dueling Arts International, a non-profit organization providing comprehensive training for performers, teachers and directors in the art of theatrical combat. He also received the Patrick "Paddy" Crean Award from the Society of American Fight Directors.


Kathleen Dempsey Boyle is senior assistant general counsel for General Growth Properties, Chicago.

Thomas Klak is professor of environmental studies at the University of New England, Biddeford, Maine.

Willie Rucker was inducted into the Thornton Township High School Hall of Fame.


Scott Lockard is the Madison (Wis.) Market President of US Bank NA.



Lori Williams Jackson married Richard Black in October 2010.

Diane Lillie has joined Business Insurance, Chicago, as the publication's marketing director.



Denis Drolet, associate professor of chemistry at Wartburg College, received the college's 2011 John O. Chellevold Student Award for excellence in teaching and professional service.


Wendy Jost McBride received a master's in literacy education from Northern Illinois University, DeKalb..


Gregory Chodora has been named regional vice president of commercial lines underwriting for the Harleysville Insurance Midwest region, based in Itasca, Ill.


Philip Hodgkinson is a social studies teacher for the St. Vrain Valley School District, Longmont, Colo.

Julie Hoffman Sena is media coordinator for The Center for Violence-free Relationships, Placerville, Calif.

John VanSanten is managing director in the Valuation & Financial Opinions¬-Real Estate Group, for Stout Risius Ross, Chicago.


Becky Kia is first chair violin in the Omaha Symphony and principle violinist for Mannheim Steamroller.

Darcy Tillman married Martin Goetze on February 19, 2011.


Laura Baumbach Crumbleholme was installed as vice president/president-elect of the Iowa Federation of Music Clubs.

Kenneth Miller is pastor of St. Paul Lutheran Church, Auburn, Neb.