Augustana College printing logo

March 24, 2011


Freshman Johanna Schnitzler set a new Augustana school record in the pentathlon during the 2011 indoor season. She scored 2,695 points at the CCIW meet to break Juli Weber's 1991 record of 2,362 points.

Seniors Hannah Hottle (Monmouth-Roseville HS, Monmouth, Ill.) and Ella Mathieson (Lyons Township HS, LaGrange, Ill.) spearheaded the effort for the 2011 Augustana women’s indoor track & field season. The Vikings of veteran head coach Fred Whiteside finished the year ranked 25th in the final NCAA Division III indoor power rankings and placed fourth in the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin championship meet.

Hottle and Mathieson shared the team’s Most Valuable Performer award by a vote of their teammates following the season.

For Hottle this is the second consecutive season that she has shared the MVP honor. Hottle was an NCAA Division III national meet qualifier in the 800 with a time of 2:16.06 at the CCIW meet in Bloomington, Illinois on February 26. She was third in the CCIW in the 800. During the year she recorded the best time on the team in the 400 (1:01.01), 600 (1:37.73), 800 (2:16.06) and 1000 (3:02.98). She also broke the Augustana school record in the 600 with her clocking of 1:37.73 at the Midwest Championship in Monmouth, Illinois. She took down the old mark of 1:38.87 set by Kristy Windy in 1998.

Mathieson had the best long and triple jump performances for the Vikings during 2011. She placed second in the long jump at the CCIW meet with a leap of 17’ 9” and was also second in the triple jump with a leap of 36’ 0 ¼”. Her best triple jump mark this past indoor season was 36’ 8 ¼” in a dual meet against St. Ambrose on February 17 at home. Mathieson is now sixth on the school’s all-time indoor list in both the long and triple jumps.

Whiteside’s team placed fourth in the CCIW championships with 50 points. Besides the places earned by Hottle and Mathieson, freshman Taelar Hillyer (Rock Island Alleman HS, Bettendorf, Iowa) took third in the pole vault with a clearance of 10’ 8”. Freshman Johanna Schnitzler (Downers Grove South HS, Woodridge, Ill.) was sixth in the pentathlon at the CCIW meet and in the process she set a new school record with a score of 2,695. She broke the old record of 2,362 held by Juli Weber from 1991.

Brittney Bennett (Annawan HS, Annawan, Ill.) was the top sprinter for the Vikings as she had the best time in the 55 (:07.69) and the 200 (:27.25). Both of those times were recorded at the CCIW championships. Sophomore Tara Bistry (Joliet Catholic HS, Shorewood, Ill.) recorded the best time in the 2000 (7:10.40) and 5000 (19:51.82). Liana Beauchamp (Genoa-Kingston HS, Genoa, Ill.) was the top thrower with best tosses in the 20 pound weight (47’ 4 ½”) and shot put (37’ 6 ½”).

In addition to the fourth place finish in the conference meet, the Vikings defeated St. Ambrose in a dual meet (112-90 on February 17), placed second in the Lutheran Triangular, placed third in the Midwest Invitational and were sixth in the Warhawk Invitational. They also competed in the Dubuque Invitational, the Augustana Open and the North Central Open where no team scores were kept.

Schnitzler and Kierra Smith (Creston HS, Creston, Iowa) shared the Most Valuable Freshman honor. Schnitzler had the best high jump on the team in addition to being the top scorer in the pentathlon. Smith had the best time on the team in the 55 hurdles (:08.84 at the CCIW meet) and the 300 (:44.92 at the Augustana Invitational).

The Erica Vortman Spirit Award was won by senior Brittney Bennett (Annawan HS, Annawan, Ill.), senior Amy Walsh (Cary-Grove HS, Cary, Ill.) and sophomore Jennifer Prazak (Naperville North HS, Naperville, Ill.).

Whiteside announced that the award for most improved athlete will be renamed the “Susan Wall Most Improved Award”. Wall was a 1992 graduate who came to Augustana during the 1988-80 school year and ran 23:45 for 5,000 meters. Eventually she recorded a career best of 18:25 and was an Illinois Small College state champion in cross country and won the 3000 in the 1990 CCIW conference outdoor meet. She passed away suddenly this past February. Senior Brittany Prazak (Naperville North HS, Naperville, Ill.) and sophomore Kirstillyn Pohlman (Zion-Benton HS, Winthrop Harbor, Ill.) were the winners of the first “Susan Wall Most Improved Award”.


FINAL NCAA DIVISION III RANKING – 25th (by United States Track & Field/Cross Country Coaches Association)
CCIW ATHLETE OF THE WEEK – Hannah Hottle, 01/18/11

MOST VALUABLE PERFORMER – Hannah Hottle & Ella Mathieson
MOST VALUABLE FRESHMAN – Johanna Schnitzler & Kierra Smith
SUSAN WALL MOST IMPROVED PERFORMER – Brittany Prazak & Kirstillyn Pohlman
ERICA VORTMAN VIKING AWARD – Brittney Bennett, Amy Walsh & Jennifer Prazak

SOL BUTLER CLASSIC (01/15) – Kristin Klouda, pole vault (8’ 0”)
MIDWEST INVITATIONAL (01/22/11) – Ella Mathieson, triple jump (34’ 7 ¾”)
WARTBURG LUTHERAN TRIANGULAR (01/29/11) – Taelar Hillyer, pole vault (10’ 2”); Ella Mathieson, triple jump (35’ 2”); Hannah Hottle, 800 (2:20.50); Samantha Bazely, long jump (15’ 1 ½”)
WARHAWK INVITATIONAL (02/05/11) – Hannah Hottle, 800 (2:18.74)
AUGUSTANA INVITATIONAL (02/12) –  200, Brittney Bennett (:27.40); 300, Kierra Smith (:44.92); 400, Hannah Hottle (1:01.01); 2000, Brittany Prazak (7:20.51); 5000, Alyssa Tworek (20:31.49); Pole Vault, Taelar Hillyer (11’ 2”); Weight Throw, Liana Beauchamp (47’ 4 ½”); High Jump, Lauren Schneiderbauer & Johanna Schnitzler (4’ 11”); Long Jump, Ella Mathieson (17’ 0 ¾”); 3200 Relay (Sarahbeth Jones, Hannah Hottle, Meghan Reaney, Rachael Latham) 9:49.79.

600 – Hannah Hottle, 1:37.73 on 01/22/11 @ Midwest Invitational in Monmouth, Illinois – previous record 1:39.87 set by Kristy Windy in 1998
Pentathlon – Johanna Schnitzler, 2,695 on 02/25/11 @ CCIW Championship in Bloomington, Illinois – previous record 2,632 set by Juli Weber in 1991

February 26-27, 2010 *** North Central College *** Naperville, Illinois
TEAM SCORES: 1. North Central 252; 2. Illinois Wesleyan 135; 3. Carthage 123; 4. AUGUSTANA & Millikin 50; 6. Wheaton 44; 7. Elmhurst 7; 8. North Park 1.

55 – Ashura Jenkins, Carthage :07.24
200 – Lauren Alpert, Illinois Wesleyan :25.28
400 – Sheila Walsh, North Central :56.64
800 – Krista Cota, North Central 2:14.59
Mile – Amanda Laesch, North Central 5:08.54
3000 – Amanda Laesch, North Central 10:21.05
5000 – Amanda Laesch, North Central 17:16.02
55 Hurdles – Melissa Savino, North Central :08.50
1600 Relay – Illinois Wesleyan 3:54.29
Distance Medley – Illinois Wesleyan – 12:20.58
High Jump – Michelle Criscione, North Central 5’ 3 ¾”
Pole Vault – Carolyn Kalafut, North Central 11’ 3 ¾”
Long Jump – Lauren Alpert, Illinois Wesleyan 18’ 6 ½”
Triple Jump – Lauren Alpert, Illinois Wesleyan 37’ 9 ¼”
Shot Put – Mindy Harrington, Carthage 46’ 2”
Weight Throw – Mindy Harrington, Carthage 56’ 3 ¾”
Pentathlon – Sarah Thompson, Carthage, 3,235