Augustana College printing logo

June 1, 2006

2006 Men's Tennis Review

Vikings men’s tennis finishes season with 13-7 record; Rafael Romero (1st team) and Tom Goebel (2nd team) named to College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin All-Conference team; Augustana places third at conference tournament with semi-final loss to Wheaton and victory over Elmhurst in third place match; 2006 squad ties single season school record for wins with 13.

The Augustana Vikings men’s tennis team finished the 2006 season in style with a thrilling 4-3 victory over Elmhurst at the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin tournament in Bloomington, Illinois on April 29.The team finished the season with 13-7 record and a 3-2 mark in the CCIW.  The 13 wins ties the record for most victories in a season which was previously done in both 1968 (13-2) and 1980 (13-3).

Rafael Romero (Byron HS in Byron, Ill. – Punto Fijo, Venezuela) played number one all season, finishing with a record of 12-7.  Romero teamed with fellow sophomore Tom Goebel (Moline HS, Moline, Ill.) for a 10-8 record at number one doubles.  The highlight of the year for the duo occurred against Monmouth on April 29 where they defeated the number 16 doubles team in the region.  Romero has a singles record of 22-14 in two seasons, putting him on pace to crack the top ten all-time victory list after his senior season. Both were named to the CCIW all-conference team as Romero was a first team selection and Goebel was named to the second team.

Dave Gapp (Jacobs HS, Algonquin, Ill.) led the team in singles wins with a 14-6 record playing most of his sophomore year at number three and four singles.  Gapp’s two year mark of 23-10 also puts him on pace to finish in the top ten all-time victory list by the end of his career.  He teamed with senior Don Martinez (Rich East HS, Park Forest, Ill.) for a 7-3 mark at number two doubles.  Gapp and Martinez were 14-5 over the last two seasons.

Nate Olson (Muscatine HS, Muscatine, Iowa) finished his career with a solid junior season.  Olson was 9-8 in singles while playing mostly at the fourth spot and 10-8 in doubles.  He teamed with freshman Greg Ruth (Quincy HS, Quincy, Ill.) for a 7-5 record playing at second and third doubles.

Andy McCarter (Dixon HS, Dixon, Ill.) and Brian Burghgraef (York HS, York, Ill.) worked hard and found a lot more playing time this season.  After only competing in four matches last year, McCarter responded with an impressive sophomore campaign, producing an 11-5 mark in singles primarily at the fifth and sixth positions.  Burghgraef played in just two doubles matches last year, but responded in his junior season by recording an 11-5 mark while playing with five different partners mostly at third doubles.

The Vikings began the season with a 6-1 win over NCAA Division II Quincy and ended with a 4-3 victory over conference rival Elmhurst.  In between, the team experienced a five match winning streak earlier in the year and a four match winning streak late in the season.  Six of the team’s seven losses were to regionally or nationally ranked teams.

2006 CCIW Tournament

April 28-29, 2006 ** Evergreen Racquet Club ** Bloomington, Illinois

Seeds: 1. Carthage (5-0); 2. Wheaton (4-1); 3. AUGUSTANA (3-2); 4. Elmhurst (2-3); 5. Illinois Wesleyan (1-4); 6. North Central (0-5)


#1 – Elmhurst 5, Illinois Wesleyan 2

Match #2 – Augustana 7, North Central 0

Match #3 – Carthage 7, Elmhurst 0

Match #4 – Wheaton 5, Augustana 2

Placing Matches:

Match #5 – Illinois Wesleyan 5, North Central 2 (5th place)

Match #6 – Augustana 4, Elmhurst 3 (3rd place)

Match #7 – Carthage 5, Wheaton 2 (1st place)

2005-06 Augustana Superlatives

CCIW All-Conference: Rafael Romero (1st team) and Tom Goebel (2nd team)

CCIW Academic All-Conference: Brian Burghgraef, Tom Goebel, Andy McCarter, Nate Olson & Rafael Romero

CCIW Finish: 3rd place at conference tournament

Invitational Finishes: 3rd place at Kerry Seward Memorial Tournament at Wabash College in Crawfordsville, Indiana

School Record Team Victories in a Single Season: 13 (13-7 overall record ties previous record of 13-2 from 1968 and 13-3 from 1980)

Most Valuable Player: Rafael Romero

Most Improved Player: Greg Ruth

Most Inspirational Player: Rafael Romero, Dave Gapp & Pete Sakash

Newcomer of the Year: Greg Ruth

2007 Captains Elect: Brian Burghgraef & Tom Goebel

Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-Academic Team: 2006 Vikings were one of just 30 teams nationwide to win this award.

Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-Academic Individuals: Tom Goebel and Rafael Romero