Augustana College printing logo

June 1, 2004

2004 Men's Tennis Review

John Feehan named to All-Conference Team; Vikings place 5th in CCIW

Junior John Feehan (Illinois Math & Science Academy, East Moline, IL) capped a fine 2004 season by being selected to the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin all-conference team in men’s tennis. Feehan, who played both number one singles and doubles all year, was one of six players in the league named to the first team. He was the only Augustana player chosen to the 12 team squad, which had a first and second team.

Feehan finished the year with an 8-9 singles record while competing in the rugged number one singles category. Heading into his senior year he will carry a career record of 31-26. He teamed with Dan Rooney (Downers Grove South HS, Downers Grove, IL) at number one doubles for a record of 9-8.

Augustana, under the direction of first year head coach Brad Dietzel, finished the year with a 6-13 overall record and a mark of 1-4 in the CCIW. This year the CCIW changed its format regarding play in the conference tournament. Instead of the previously used flighted tournament where individuals played at six singles positions according to ability and three doubles slots, the conference went to a dual meet team format.

In the very first round the Vikings lost to Wheaton by a score of 6-1 with the lone point coming from Pete Sakash (York HS, Elmhurst, IL). Sakash beat Jeff Darragh by a score of 3-6; 6-2; 6-1 at number six singles. The number three doubles team of Don Martinez (Rich East HS, Park Forest, IL) and Dan Ahern (Maine East HS, Glenview, IL) beat Darragh and Graham Johnson at number three doubles by a score of 8-3. In doubles play, however, the team point went to Wheaton because the Thunder won two of the three doubles matches.

After losing to Wheaton, Augustana bounced back nicely to defeat North Central 7-0, winning all six singles matches and all three doubles as well. That victory secured fifth place for the Vikings.

Martinez, who played most of the year at number three singles, led the team in wins with an 11-8 record. Rooney, the number two singles player, was 9-10 for the year.

2004 College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin

Men's Tennis Championships

April 23-24, 2004 - Wheaton, Illinois

Championship Match:  Carthage def. Illinois Wesleyan 7-0

Third Place Match:  Wheaton def. Elmhurst 4-3

Fifth Place Match:  Augustana def. North Central 7-0

Semifinals:       #2-seed Illinois Wesleyan def. Elmhurst 6-1

Semifinals:       #1-seed Carthage def. Wheaton 7-0

First Round:     #3-seed Elmhurst def. #6-seed North Central 7-0

First Round:     #4-seed Wheaton def. #5-seed Augustana 6-1

Fifth Place Match:  Augustana def. North Central 7-0

1.John Feehan (Augustana) def. Greg Bauman (North Central) 6-3, 6-4
2.Dan Rooney (Augustana) def. Russ Pantek (North Central) 6-1, 6-3
3.Dan Martinez (Augustana) def. Jesse Gonzalez (North Central) 6-2, 6-0
4.Nate Olson (Augustana) def. Eric Thomson (North Central) 6-2, 7-5
5.Brandon Wolber (Augustana) def. Dave Thomas (North Central) 6-2, 6-2
6.Pete Sakash (Augustana def. Eric Stein (North Central) 6-2, 6-1
1.Feehan/Rooney (Augustana) def. Bauman/Gonzalez 8-1
2.Olson/Martinez (Augustana) def. Pantek/Thomson (North Central) 8-2
3.Burghgraef/Dan Ahern (Augustana) def. Stein/Thomas (North Central) 8-1

#4-seed Wheaton def. #5-seed Augustana

1.Breck Schleuter (Wheaton) def. John Feehan (Augustana) 6-1, 6-1
2.Joe Williams (Wheaton) def Dan Rooney (Augustana) 7-6 (6), 6-2
3.Christian Dawes (Wheaton) def. Don Martinez (Augustana) 6-3, 6-3

Ashton Williams (Wheaton) def. Nate Olson (Augustana) 7-6 (11), 2-6, 10-7


Graham Johnson (Wheaton) def. Brandon Wolber (Augustana) 6-4, 2-6, 10-7


Pete Sakash (Augustana) def. Jeff Darragh (Wheaton) 3-6, 6-2, 6-1


Schleuter/J. Williams (Wheaton) def. Feehan/Rooney (Augustana) 8-5


Dawes/A. Williams (Wheaton) def. Olson/Burgraef (Augustana) 8-1


Martinez/Ahern (Augustana) def. Johnson/Darragh (Wheaton) 8-3

2004 All-CCIW Men's Tennis Team

First Team 
John FeehanAugustana
Brad LivingstonCarthage
Dan SchmidgallCarthage
Dan FarettaElmhurst
Breck SchleuterWheaton
Mike WalzIllinois Wesleyan
Second Team 
Alex DonkorCarthage
Michael HicksCarthage
Steve StitzelCarthage
Justin HegnerElmhurst
Matt RinebergIllinois Wesleyan
Joe Williams Wheaton

Player of the Year:  Dane Schmidgall, Carthage

CCIW Tournament MVP:  Alex Donkor, Carthage

Coach of the Year:  Brady Lindsey, Carthage