Augustana College printing logo

Looking back at 2010

A sesquicentennial, All-Americans, ice cream, Old Main and more

January  03, 2011

2010 was Augustana's 150th year and the year's headlines reflected its traditions of excellence in academics, athletics, music and more.


The college announces the renovation of Old Main. By year's end, the copper-clad dome had emerged from the blanket of scaffolding that enveloped the building all summer and fall.

Dr. Peter Kivisto gives the inaugural lecture of the new Center for the Study of Pluralism and the Civil Sphere, which will support research on diversity in society.


Augustana unveils a new creative writing major to build on the already successful English major and meet the growing demands of students, graduate schools and employers.


Expanding its outreach, the college creates the Community Engagement Center to centralize offices that help students get involved with the local, national and international community.

Augustana creates a new graphic design major to help aspiring students meet an expected increase in demand for designers in the U.S. workforce.


2,694 people unofficially break the world record for the number of people in a chain eating ice cream simultaneously. The feat was counted down on the scoreboard at Ericson Field. The flavor consumed was Augustana Viking Pride, made especially by Whitey's Ice Cream for the sesquicentennial.

After receiving a very positive response in a student survey, the faculty approved a new neuroscience major for the fall of 2010.

Augustana's choir, symphonic band and orchestra perform in the renowned Orchestra Hall at Symphony Center in Chicago.


Dr. David Walton '98, who worked in clinics in Haiti with Partners in Health, gives the 150th year commencement address.

Senior Max Petersen is named the 2010 recipient of the Glenn T. Seaborg Science Award for outstanding academic and extracurricular achievements. He is one of eight Augustana students to have won the Seaborg; Mohammed Zak Rajput won it in 2009.

The Vikings win the men's College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin track and field championship.

The addition of men's lacrosse for 2011-12 is announced, just six months after the addition of women's lacrosse.


The tradition of producing Academic All-Americans continues: track seniors Max Petersen and Nick Borchert bring the total to 134.

Representatives of Augustana College in Rock Island, Augustana College in Sioux Falls, S.D. and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America commemorate the 150th anniversary of the formation of the Scandinavian Evangelical Lutheran Augustana Synod.


The Science Building is renamed the Robert A. and Patricia K. Hanson Hall of Science in honor of the Hansons' $8 million donation to the college.

Taking over Rock Island's new Schwiebert Riverfront Park, the college treats the community to a 150th Anniversary Hometown Celebration with free ice cream, music and fireworks.


As part of the sesquicentennial celebration, the Augustana College Art Museum displays the 318-piece Olson-Brandelle North American Indian Art Collection in its entirety for the first time. Six artists represented in the collection demonstrate and speak about their work at an accompanying public arts festival.


Augustana launches Celebration, a new gospel choir.


Dr. Lendol Calder is named Illinois Professor of the Year, selected from more than 300 top professors in the United States.

Senior middle linebacker Johnny Mago becomes Augustana's 135th Academic All-American athlete.

A $500,000 grant from the National Science Foundation allows biology professor Dr. Lori Scott to provide undergraduates with an original research experience using computer-based bioinformatics.


Dr. Mariano Magalhães, associate professor of political science, is selected as a Fulbright Scholar to research and teach for four months in Brazil.

The talent of musicians and vocalists is on display during a month-long series of concerts, a Celebration of Christmas, and featuring the 130th anniversary performance of Handel's Messiah.

Dr. Pareena G. Lawrence is named dean of Augustana College.