Augustana College printing logo

October  19, 2010

Augustana Board of Trustees welcomes local voices

Augustana College is pleased to welcome three new members to the Augustana Board of Trustees, including two leaders from the Quad-City community. Kenneth Lee Abrams from Westwood, Ma., Diane B. Harris from Moline, Ill., and Mark William Schwiebert from Rock Island, Ill., will serve a four-year term ending in 2014.

Abrams is a partner in Wellington Management Company, LLP, an internationally acclaimed investment management company. Abrams received his master's from the Stanford Graduate School of Business in 1986 and currently manages equity portfolios for mutual funds, endowments and other institutional investors. His wife, Susan Nelson Abrams, is a '76 alumna of Augustana.

Harris is a retired elementary school teacher who taught in the Cedar Rapids and Bettendorf school districts. She currently serves on the board of the Two Rivers YMCA, the Quad City Symphony Orchestra Association, the Community Foundation of the Great River Bend, the Hunt and Diane Harris Family Foundation and the John H. Harris III Memorial Foundation. Harris also has been on the board of directors of WVIK-Augustana Public Radio and First Congregational Church in Moline, where she currently is a member.

Schwiebert graduated from Augustana in 1972. After earning his law degree from Drake University, he returned to the Quad Cities and began practicing law at the Schwiebert & Schwiebert Law Office. In 1989, he was elected mayor of Rock Island, a position he held until he retired in 2009. In 2010, the Schwiebert Riverfront Park in Rock Island was named in his honor. Schwiebert also has been honored with the Augustana College Alumni Outstanding Service Award; the State of Illinois Community Service Award; the Department of the Army, Commander's Award for Public Service; and the Rotary International, District 6420 Service Above Self Award. He was awarded an honorary doctorate of humane letters from Augustana in 2003.

Augustana President Steve Bahls looks forward to the leadership experience and fresh perspectives that each will bring to the Augustana Board of Trustees.

"My colleagues and I are both humbled and deeply grateful that leaders of this extraordinary caliber are willing to give of their time, experience and insight in both strengthening our academic program and providing the vision required to sustain Augustana's place as one of our nation's premier liberal arts colleges," said Bahls. "Ken Abrams, Diane Harris and Mark Schwiebert each bring distinctive expertise to the governance of Augustana, and I am immensely gratified for what that will mean for our students and faculty in the years to come."

Sam Schlouch
Senior Communication Director
(309) 794-7833