Augustana College printing logo

October 12, 2010

2010 Season - Vikings beat Beloit 2-0 for fourth straight win

Freshman Matt Shipon set up the Vikings' second goal of the night with a nice assist to Sean O'Malley. Augustana defeated Beloit 2-0 for its fourth straight win.

ROCK ISLAND, Ill. - Kevin Wyrostek (Naperville North HS, Naperville, Ill.) converted a penalty kick in the 72nd minute Tuesday night to spark Augustana to a 2-0 win over Beloit at Ericson Field. The win was the Vikings' fourth in a row and evens their season record at 6-6-1. Beloit falls to 5-7-0 on the year.

 After a scoreless first half that saw the Augustana outshoot the Buccaneers nine to five, Beloit's Sean Little was called for a handball in the box with 18:42 remaining in the game. Wyrostek beat Buccaneer goalkeeper Michael Kreiser with his penalty kick to put the Vikings ahead 1-0. The goal was Wyrostek's second of the year.

 Augustana got some insurance seven minutes later when freshman Matt Shipon (South Elgin HS, Elgin, Ill.) darted down the left side and made a nice centering pass to Sean O'Malley (University HS, Bloomington, Ill.) who beat Kreiser for his second goal of the season. The assist was Shipon's second of the year as well.

 Meanwhile the Augustana defense, led by Evan Johnson (Glenbard South, Glen Ellyn, Ill.), Brett Bleecher (Marist HS, Oak Lawn, Ill.) and Jason Beckus (Neuqua Valley HS, Naperville, Ill.), was solid in front of freshman goalkeepers Tyler Cowherd (Bettendorf HS, Bettendorf, Iowa) and Steve Zahrobsky (Downers Grove South HS, Woodridge, Ill.). The two combined for the Vikings' fourth consecutive shutout, with Zahrobsky relieving Cowherd in the 83rd minute.

 For the game, the Vikings peppered Krieser with 24 shots, 13 of which were on goal. He was credited with 11 saves. Beloit got off eight shots with Cowherd making three saves and Zahrobsky one. Augustana also held a 7-3 advantage in corner kicks.

 The Vikings will attempt to extend their winning streak when they host Lake Forest at Ericson Field on Thursday, October 14 at 7:30 p.m.