Augustana College printing logo

April 24, 2010

2009-2010 Season - 1600 relay takes eighth at Drake Relays

DES MOINES, Iowa - By the just narrowest of margins the 1600 meter relay team missed both a school record and an automatic qualifying mark for the NCAA national meet. The team of Greg Davis (Carlinville HS, Carlinville, Ill.), Greg Patton (Bloomington HS, Bloomington, Ill.), Matt Somers (Naperville Central HS, Naperville, Ill.) and Nick Borchert (Ankeny HS, Ankeny, Iowa) finished eighth at the Drake Relays in a time of 3:13.33.

That time was just off the existing school record of 3:13.13 set in 1996 by Nate Hurt, Scott Tumilty, Mark Zemke and Rob Lee. On Friday the team of Davis, Patton, Somers and Borchert clocked a time of 3:14.16 to qualify for the finals. The NCAA automatic qualifying mark in the 1600 relay is 3:13.00.

The shuttle hurdle relay team of Davis, Marty King (Oswego HS, Oswego, Ill.), Pat Callan (Libertyville HS, Libertyville, Ill.) and Brendan Bradley (Mundelein HS, Mundelein, Ill.) also came close to a school record. That unit finished sixth with a time of 1:02.41 and just missed the school record of 1:02.35.

Phil Christensen (Kaneland HS, Maple Park, Ill.) took 16th in the discus with a toss of 154' 5" and Patrick Zeunik (Bloomington Central Catholic HS, Bloomington, Ill.) was 14th in the triple jump with a leap of 46' 3 1/2".

The sprint medley relay team of Jacob O'Rourke (Davenport Assumption HS, Bettendorf, Iowa), Alex Rindone (Marmion Academy, Geneva, Ill.), Daniel Doubet (Galesburg HS, Galesburg, Ill.) and Joe Zahn (Moline HS, Moline, Ill.) placed 18th in 3:32.25. The distance medley foursome of Sean Carmody (Winnebago HS, Rockford, Ill.), James Wood (St. Charles North HS, St. Charles, Ill.), Greg Weigand (Wheaton-Warrenville South HS, Wheaton, Ill.) and Dan Bailey (Deerfield HS, Deerfield, Ill.) finished 21st in 10:24.88.