Augustana College printing logo

February 13, 2010

2009-2010 Season - Tanya Walter wins two diving titles at CCIW

Augustana junior Tanya Walter (Prospect HS, Mt. Prospect, Ill.) claimed a pair of individual diving titles at the 2010 College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin Swimming & Diving Championship on Saturday, February 13 in Bloomington, Illinois. Walter won the one meter diving with 309.05 points and claimed the three meter crown with 315.70 points.

The diving competition was held at Illinois Wesleyan University and it was contested the week before the swimming events, which will be held in Kenosha, Wisconsin beginning on Thursday, February 18.

In the one meter board Walter won by 16.35 points over second place finisher Nicole Richardson of Rose-Hulman. She nipped Richardson by just 2.95 points in the three meter competition.

Walter becomes the first Augustana individual to win a CCIW title in either swimming or diving since Ramsey Vens won the 100 backstroke in 2007. She is the first Viking to win the diving competition since Tracy Davern in 1997 and the first to capture both the one and three meter events since Amy Doyle did it back in 1992.

On the men’s side of the ledger sophomore Bobby Flynn (Bartlett HS, Bartlett, Ill.) placed third off the three meter board with 259.60 points and was fourth on the one meter with 253.20.

The diving points will be added to the team totals for the CCIW championship and Augustana is currently leading the women’s race with the 40 points garnered by Walter. Rose Hulman is in second with 34 points and Illinois Wesleyan is in third with 31. Rose Hulman leads the men’s meet with 71 points while Wheaton is second with 33 and Augustana is third with 31.