Augustana College printing logo

January 30, 2010

2009-2010 Season - Vikings finish second at Principia Invite

ELSAH, Ill. – Senior Jake Glimco (Neuqua Valley HS, Naperville, Ill.) and freshman Chris Greaves (Morris HS, Morris, Ill.) each won individual titles to lead the Augustana men’s swimming team to a second place finish at the Principia Invitational on Saturday, January 30 in Elsah, Illinois.  Glimco won the 1650 freestyle while Greaves grabbed the top spot in the 500 freestyle with a time of 5:06.31.

The Vikings finished the day with 444 points, just 20 points behind host Principia (464).  Lindenwood took third with 354 points, with Millikin (301) and Hannibal-LaGrange (78) completing the field.

Greaves also teamed with senior Eric Zike (Ridgeview HS, Colfax, Ill.), freshman Marcus Julian (Lake Park HS, Itasca, Ill.), and senior Kyle Waller (DeKalb HS, DeKalb, Ill.) for a victory in the 200 medley relay.  The foursome completed the race with a clocking of 1:43.36.  Greaves, Zike, Julian, and sophomore Denny Wind (Downers Grove North HS, Downers Grove, Ill.) were second in the 400 freestyle relay (3:26.93).  Greaves was also third in the 200 butterfly (2:06.65).

Julian contributed a second place showing in the 200 breaststroke (2:25.39) and a third place finish in the 200 freestyle (1:57.07).  Freshman Eric Pease (Sterling HS, Sterling, Ill.) took second in the 400 individual medley with a time of 4:59.62.  He notched a fourth place finish in the 100 breaststroke (1:09.82) and was fifth in the 200 breaststroke (2:35.20).

Sophomore Robert Flynn (Bartlett HS, Bartlett, Ill.) earned third place finishes in both diving events.  He scored 122.25 points in the one meter dive and tallied 139.25 points in the three meter dive.  Waller took third in the 50 freestyle with a time of :22.70.  He hit the finish line in :50.32 to place fourth in the 100 freestyle.  Zike took fourth in the 100 backstroke (:59.53) and Wind placed fourth in the 200 freestyle (2:00.01).

Story written by Assistant Sports Information Director Adam Strand