Augustana College printing logo

October 15, 2009

2009-2010 Season - Richardson named to all-CCIW team

Senior Jenna Richardson (Melrose Park Walther Lutheran HS, Bellwood, Ill.) was named to the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin women’s tennis all-conference team that was recently announced. She was selected by the CCIW coaches for the second team. It is the third straight year that Richardson has received CCIW All-Conference honors.

Richardson was joined on the second team by Jill Casserly, Lindsey Hallett, and Sara Federschmidt of Wheaton, Cory Schillerstrom of North Central, and Virginia Dallman of Elmhurst. The first team was comprised of Gina Klein, Beth Kaufman, and Hollis McPeek of Carthage, Elizabeth Worsowicz and Kayli Edwards of Wheaton, and Helen Alex of Illinois Wesleyan.

Worsowicz was named “Player of the Year”, McPeek was selected as “Tournament MVP”, and Jane Nelson of Wheaton was named “Coach of the Year.”

Richardson played No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles for Augustana during the entire fall season. She was 10-10 in singles, including a 9-6 dual meet record. The senior and three-time Viking MVP was also 8-11 teaming with senior Tricia Crawford (Decorah HS, Decorah, Iowa) in doubles. The duo was 7-7 in dual meets. Richardson reached the 100 victory mark for her career earlier this fall when she notched wins at No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles against Dubuque. She has since added to that total and sits at 113 career wins heading into the spring season.

The Vikings finished the fall portion of the season at 6-9 overall with a 2-4 mark in the CCIW. Augustana compiled 26 points at the CCIW Championships, placing fourth as a team and edging Illinois Wesleyan for the final spot in the CCIW Automatic Qualifier Tournament next spring.

CCIW Women’s Tennis All-Conference Team (listed alphabetically)


Hometown (High School)


First Team



Helen Alex

Darien, Ill. (Hinsdale South)

Illinois Wesleyan

Kayli Edwards

Ada, Okla. (H.S.)


Beth Kaufman

Barrington, Ill. (H.S.)


Gina Klein

Darien, Ill. (Hinsdale South)


Hollis McPeek

Lake Bluff, Ill. (Lake Forest)


Elizabeth Worsowicz

Columbia, Mo. (Rock Bridge)


Second Team



Jill Casserly

Newport Beach, Calif. (Newport Harbor)


Virginia Dallman

Glen Ellyn, Ill. (Glenbard West)


Sara Federschmidt

Orange Park, Fla. (Fleming Island)


Lindsey Hallett

Champaign, Ill. (Central)


Jenna Richardson

Bellwood, Ill. (Melrose Park Walther Lutheran)


Cory Schillerstrom

Naperville, Ill. (Central)

North Central