Augustana College printing logo

October 3, 2009

2009 Season - Vikings top D3 team at Lakefront Invitational

Using a lineup that had four freshmen in the top seven, the Augustana women’s cross country team ran into some stiff competition at the 37th Annual Sean Earl Loyola Lakefront Invitational. The meet, which featured 34 teams, was held at Montrose Harbor on the Chicago lakefront and veteran head coach Fred Whiteside’s Vikings placed 17th.

Wichita State won the team title with 67 points while Missouri State was second with 103 and McMaster College took third with 110.

Augustana scored 456 points to place 17th. Of the 16 teams that finished ahead of the Vikings, eight were NCAA Division I schools (Wichita State, Missouri State, Northwestern, Western Michigan, Loyola, Drake, Toledo and Wisconsin-Milwaukee) while three were from Canada (McMaster, Western Ontario and Windsor). The rest of the teams ahead of Whiteside’s bunch were either NCAA Division II, NAIA or junior colleges (Aquinas, Saginaw Valley, Iowa Central, Indianapolis and St. Xavier). Augustana was the top NCAA Division III institution in the field.

Senior Ellen Adams (Glenbard West HS, Glen Ellyn, Ill.) was the top finisher for the Vikings as she took 58th with a time of 19:22 over the 5,000 meter course. Junior Hannah Hottle (Monmouth-Roseville HS, Monmouth, Ill.) placed 91st in 19:42. Tara Bistry (Joliet Catholic HS, Shorewood, Ill.), the first of four Augustana freshman in the top seven, was next with a time of 19:54 and a 106th place finish. Freshman Theresa Coverick (Stagg HS, Palos Park, Ill.) was 115th in 20:05 and senior Krystal Damiano (Cary-Grove HS, Cary, Ill.) took 139th in 20:22. Two freshmen rounded out the top seven for the Vikings. Sarahbeth Jones (Warren Township HS, Wadsworth, Ill.) placed 146th in 20:26 and Annie Heifner (Oregon HS, Oregon, Wis.) took 152nd in 20:30.

Augustana’s next scheduled meet is October 10 in Waverly, Iowa at the Wartburg Invitational. The meet, which will be held on the Wartburg campus, is scheduled to begin at 10:45 a.m.