Augustana College printing logo

June 3, 2009

2008-2009 Season - Weigand named MVP for golf team

Kyle Weigand (Leyden HS, Franklin Park, Ill.) was honored as the “Most Outstanding Player” for the men’s golf team this season.  Jordan Henry (Erie HS, Erie, Ill.) earned the “Newcomer of the Year” award, and Phil Litchfield (Benet Academy, Darien, Ill.) was selected as “Most Improved.”

The men’s golf team finished its season with a seventh place finish at the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin championship meet.  The Blue & Gold shot 1,280 for the four rounds of play, finishing ahead of North Park (1,328).  Weigand led the squad with a 17th place individual showing.  He finished with a total score of 309 (72 + 79 + 78 +80).  Augustana’s best team finish of the spring came at the Augustana Invitational on April 10-11 where the Vikings grabbed fifth place in the 16 team field.

Weigand had the second lowest scoring average on the team, shooting 79.3 per round.  He competed in 11 rounds at six events and had a pair of top-five finishes.  He tied for third in the 33 player field at the season opening Augie Triangular and later placed fourth out of 86 players at the Augustana Invitational.  He shot a low round of 72 at the first day of the Augustana Invitational and also in round one of the CCIW championship meet.

Henry compiled the top average on the team, firing a 77.8 per round.  He participated in nine rounds of action in five events and had two top-10 performances.  Henry was the runner-up at the Augustana Triangular and also took eighth out of 24 golfers at the Red Poling Collegiate Classic.  His low round of 73 came at the Augie Triangular.

Litchfield was third on the team with an 80.0 scoring average.  He played in four events and had nine rounds on the course, compiling a top-10 showing at the Augustana Invitational.  Litchfield was 10th out of 86 golfers and fired his lowest score of the season, shooting a 71 in the second round of action.

2008-09 Augustana Vikings Varsity Letterwinners




Kevin Conte**


Clarendon Hills, Ill. (Montini)

Chris Hankins**


Waverly, Iowa (Waverly)

Zach Kinscherf***


Quincy, Ill. (Quincy Notre Dame)

Timothy Deets*


Milledgeville, Ill. (Polo)

Ted Keopple**


Geneseo, Ill. (Geneseo)

Phil Litchfield*


Darien, Ill. (Benet Academy)

Taylor Mathson*


Dunlap, Ill. (Dunlap)

Kyle Weigand**


Franklin Park, Ill. (Leyden)

T. Cole Wells**


Downs, Ill. (Tri-Valley)

Jordan Henry*


Erie, Ill. (Erie)

* - Denotes letters won

Head Coach: Grey Giovanine

Release written by Assistant Sports Information Director Adam Strand