Augustana College printing logo

May 12, 2009

2008-2009 Season - Gahn named "Most Valuable Player"

The women’s golf team announced its award winners and senior Rachel Gahn (Edina HS, Edina, Minn.) was named the “Most Valuable Player” for the 2008-09 season. Gahn averaged 83.1 strokes per round to lead the team. She also had the best low round on the squad, firing a 74 on the second day of the St. Ambrose Classic this past fall. Gahn competed in 10 events and was a top-five finisher on six occasions. She finished in the top 20 in all but one event. Gahn was the runner-up at the Augustana Triangular (25 golfers), Augustana Invitational (38 golfers), and St. Ambrose Spring Invitational (51 golfers). She placed third at the Mount Mercy Invitational (68 golfers), North Central Invitational (73 golfers), and St. Ambrose Classic (72 golfers). Gahn also finished seventh at the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Championship.

Junior Katherine Mascheri (Hersey HS, Mount Prospect, Ill.) and freshman Alexa Fontana (Freeport Aquin HS, Freeport, Ill.) were both received the “Most Improved Player” award. Mascheri was one of three Viking golfers to compete at all 10 events during the season and finished with an average score of 101.4. Her best round came on the second day of the CCIW Championship where she shot a 90 and finished tied for 33rd place. Fontana competed in five events in the fall season, but missed the spring season due to injury. She was fourth on the squad with a 95.7 scoring average in six rounds of play. Fontana had a season low score of 89 at the Monmouth Invitational where she finished 22nd out of 88 golfers. She also shot consecutive rounds of 92 at the CCIW Championship to finish in 29th place.

Seniors Heather Arizpe (Conant HS, Schaumburg, Ill.) and Shasta Ketcham (Danville HS, Danville, Iowa) shared the “Most Inspirational Player” award. Arizpe competed in all eight events and had the third lowest scoring average on the team at 91.3 strokes per round. Her best round of the season was an 81 and came on the first day of the St. Ambrose Classic this past fall where Arizpe placed 13th out of 72 golfers. Her best finish of the year was a fourth place showing at the Augustana Invitational this spring. Arizpe also tied for 14th place at the CCIW Championship. Ketcham competed in five events and had a scoring average of 113.6. Her top round was a 106 that she shot at the St. Ambrose Spring Invitational, the final meet of the season. Ketcham finished 42nd at the event.

Freshman Brittany Carr (Lincoln Way East HS, Frankfort, Ill.) was named “Most Valuable Freshman” after a successful first season with the Vikings. She competed in all 10 events and had the second lowest scoring average on the squad, finishing at 90.3 strokes per round. Carr’s best round of 82 came in the second round at the Millikin Spring Invitational where she took 24th place in an 88 player field. Carr finished fifth out of 25 golfers at the Augustana Triangular and 12th out of 38 golfers at the Augustana Invitational. She also tied for 16th out of 72 players in the St. Ambrose Classic last fall.

Junior Elizabeth Scarlata (Fremd HS, Palatine, Ill.) and sophomore Jessica Berens (Schaumburg HS, Schaumburg, Ill.) were elected as captains for the 2009-2010 season. Scarlata played in seven events with a 102.8 scoring average. Her top round was a 97 at the first day of the St. Ambrose Classic. Berens participated in nine events and compiled a 99.9 scoring average. She fired a season best round of 91 at the Monmouth Invitational and finished 26th at the event.

Arizpe, Heather****(C) Sr Schaumburg, Ill. (Conant)
Berens, Jessica** So Schaumburg, Ill. (Schaumburg)
Carr, Brittany* Fr Frankfort, Ill. (Lincoln Way East)
Fontana, Alexa* Fr Freeport, Ill. (Freeport Aquin)
Gahn, Rachel****(C) Sr Edina, Minn. (Edina)
Ketcham, Shasta* Sr Danville, Iowa (Danville
Mascheri, Katherine** Jr Mount Prospect, Ill. (Hersey)
Scarlata, Elizabeth** Jr Palatine, Ill. (Fremd)
VandeWiele, Courtney* So Rock Island, Ill. (Rock Island Alleman)

* - Denotes letters won
(C) – Team captains

Head Coach: Ron Standley

Story written by Assistant Sports Information Director Adam Strand