Augustana College printing logo

April 10, 2009

2009 Season - Vikings get win from 800 relay in first day of men's track & field competition at Lee Calhoun Memorial Relays

MACOMB, Illinois - The 800 relay team of Kyle Ekberg (Rockford Christian HS, Rockford, Ill.), Max Petersen (Mundelein HS, Mundelein, Ill.), James Wood (St. Charles North HS, St. Charles, Ill.) and Evan Holschbach (Princeton HS, Princeton, Ill.) picked up the lone victory for Augustana at the first day of the Lee Calhoun Memorial Relays on Friday, April 10 in Macomb, Illinois. Ekberg, Petersen, Wood and Holschbach sped to a clocking of 1:28.18.

Augustana is currently third in the team standings after the first day of competition with 35 points. The University of Iowa leads with 38 and Western Illinois is a close second with 36. Behind the Vikings is Eastern Illinois with 27. Illinois State (11), Ashford (6) and Bradley (4) round out the field. The Vikings are the lone NCAA Division III team in the field. Ashford is NAIA while Iowa, Western Illinois, Eastern Illinois, Illinois State and Bradley are all NCAA Division I.

Andy Kubiak (Bloomington HS, Bloomington, Ill.) took fourth in the 3000 with a time of 8:57.40 and Brian Benning (Winnebago HS, Winnebago, Ill.) was sixth with a toss of 152' 7".

The second day of competition will be Saturday, April 11.