Augustana College printing logo

February 21, 2009

2009-10 Season - Augustana men's swimmers conclude CCIW Championship with sixth place team finish

WHEATON, Illinois – Sophomore Drew Clinton (Riverside-Brookfield HS, Brookfield, Ill.), senior Jason Perine (Plainfield South HS, Plainfield, Ill.), junior Eric Zike (Ridgeview HS, Colfax, Ill.), and senior Danny Betz (DeKalb HS, DeKalb, Ill.) combined for a fifth place finish in the 400 freestyle relay to pace Augustana on the final day of competition at the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin championship on Saturday, February 21 at Wheaton College.  The foursome completed the event with a time of 3:25.62.

Carthage ran away with the team title, scoring 1,035 points.  Wheaton was second with 734 points while Rose-Hulman took third with 482.  Illinois Wesleyan came in fourth with 460 points and Millikin finished fifth with 274.  Augustana was sixth with 178 points, finishing ahead of North Central, who was seventh with 157 points.

Senior Rob Emerson (Libertyville HS, Libertyville, Ill.) placed second in the three meter diving event (358.95) and was also fourth in the one meter diving event (334.95).  Zike tallied a 14th place showing in the 200 backstroke with a clocking of 2:09.40.  Sophomore Derek Sanderson (Lincoln Way East HS, Tinley Park, Ill.) and junior Jake Glimco (Neuqua Valley HS, Naperville, Ill.) were 20th and 21st in the 1650 freestyle.  Sanderson had a time of 19:34.00 and Glimco hit the finish line in 19:35.26.

Sophomore Joseph Waldorf (Bloomington HS, Bloomington, Ill.), freshman Robert Flynn (Bartlett HS, Bartlett, Ill.), freshman Denny Wind (Downers Grove North HS, Downers Grove, Ill.), and senior Ian Gustafson (Rockford Jefferson HS, Cherry Valley, Ill.) were 13th in the 400 freestyle relay with a time of 3:34.60.

Story written by Assistant Sports Information Director Adam Strand