Augustana College printing logo

December 12, 2008

2009-10 Season - Women's swim team falls to Loras 127-98

ROCK ISLAND, Illinois - In the final swimming competition before the Christmas holiday, the Augustana swim teams came up short in a dual meet against Loras on Friday, December 12 in the Carver Pool. Loras defeated Augustana 127-98 in the women's meet and the Duhawks took the men's side of things by a score of 123-99.

The Augustana women are now 4-2 on the year while the men are 3-3.

WOMEN: The Vikings picked up a total of six wins in the meet but fell short in the team score by a margin of 127-98. Sophomore Tonya Walter (Prospect HS, Mt. Prospect, Ill.) captured both diving events, winning the one meter with a score of 153.01 and taking the three meter with a count of 154.95. She was the lone double winner for Augustana.

Megan Lonergan (Bettendorf HS, Bettendorf, Iowa) won the 200 freestyle in 2:04.90. Sara Hlavin (St. Viator HS, Elk Grove Village, Ill.) grabbed the 200 individual medley with a time of 2:21.65 and Emily Cox (Pioneer HS, Ann Arbor, Mich.) won the 500 freestyle in 5:42.38.

Colleen Mans (Robbinsdale Cooper HS, New Hope, Minn.), Kaitlyn Babicz (Charlotte Catholic HS, Oconomowoc, Wis.), Emma Moran (Bettendorf HS, Bettendorf, Iowa) and Allissa Giedd (Freeport HS, Cedarville, Ill.) teamed up to win the 200 freestyle relay in 1:58.62.

Lonergan finished second in the 100 butterfly with a time of 1:04.63 and combined with Hlavin, Jessica Fair (Ashton-Franklin Center HS, Ashton, Ill.) and Cox to finish second in the 200 medley relay with a clocking of 2:04.00. Fair took second in both the 50 (:26.24) and 100 (:56.61) freestyle events. Hlavin was second in the 100 backstroke with a clocking of 1:07.81.

MEN: Rob Emerson (Libertyville HS, Libertyville, Ill.) won both diving events, taking the one meter dive with a score of 187.91 and the three meter dive with 278.55. Drew Clinton (Riverside-Brookfield HS, Brookfield, Ill.) scored a victory in the 50 freestyle in :23.58 while Danny Betz (DeKalb HS, DeKalb, Ill.) took the 100 butterfly in :58.13. Michael Whittle (Galesburg HS, Galesburg, Ill.) won the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:07.93.

Mark Hillstrom (Neuqua Valley HS, Naperville, Ill.) placed second in the 100 freestyle in :53.49 and Eric Zike (Ridgeview HS, Colfax, Ill.) was second in the 100 backstroke in 1:02.87. Jake Glimco (Neuqua Valley HS, Naperville, Ill.) finished second in the 500 freestyle with a time of 5:49.25.

The 200 medley relay team of Zike, Whittle, Betz and Hillstrom was second in 1:47.54 and the 200 freestyle relay unit of Jason Perine (Plainfield South HS, Plainfield, Ill.), Robert Flynn (Bartlett HS, Bartlett, Ill.), Clinton and Joseph Waldorf (Bloomington HS, Bloomington, Ill.) placed second in 1:37.42.