Augustana College printing logo

June 1, 2000

2009 Season - 2000 Softball Review

In record breaking season, Kristie Wiorkowski & Hayley Hallstrom share Most Valuable Player Award.

There can be no questioning the success of the 2000 Augustana College softball team. Under the direction of first year head coach Kris Kistler, the Vikings established a new school record for victories in a single season as they romped to a 30-15 mark. It was an exciting year as the Blue & Gold broke the previous record of 27 which was held jointly by the 1980 team (27-9) and the 1996 squad (27-14).

When the voting was tabulated to pick the team Most Valuable Player, there was also no question as a savvy veteran and an exciting newcomer shared the award. Senior centerfielder Kristie Wiorkowski (Willowbrook HS, Lombard, IL) and freshman pitcher/right fielder Hayley Hallstrom (Moline HS, Moline, IL) were the picks of their teammates and with good reason.

Wiorkowski, a three-year starter in centerfield, was a three-year all-conference selection in the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin. She batted .312 this year with 40 hits in 128 at-bats while scoring 21 runs and collecting 22 runs-batted-in. She had three doubles, two triples and two home runs and stole 24 bases. She did all this while playing the majority of the season with a broken little finger on her left hand. She was also tabbed as the team's Best Defensive Player.

Hallstrom proved that she could be an asset both at the plate and on the pitching mound. She led the team in hitting with a .461 average with 47 hits in 102 at-bats while scoring 29 runs with 24 RBI. She clubbed nine doubles, three triples and three home runs and had eight stolen bases. She was 17-6 as a pitcher with a 2.56 earned run average while striking out 149 and working 147 2/3 innings. She shattered the previous strikeout record of 83 set by Crystal Putman in 1980. In fact, her 149 strikeouts this year place her in a second place tie with Jennifer Heinze (149 from 1985-88) on the career list.

Sophomore leftfielder Christine Okon (Glenbard East HS, Lombard, IL) was chosen as the Vikings Best Offensive Player. Okon, who handled the leadoff spot most of the year, batted .396 with 53 hits in 134 at-bats with 27 runs scored and 12 RBI. She was especially dangerous when she got on base as she stole a school record 31 bases, breaking the old mark of 26 held by Becky Waughop in 1995.

The Most Improved Player honor went to senior second baseman Abby Hodge (Moline HS, Milan, IL). Hodge filled in midway through the season when starter Sara Mayall (Cuba HS, Cuba, IL) went down with a broken hand. Hodge hit just .161 with 10 hits in 62 at-bats but she responded with a team high 14 sacrifices and was charged with just five errors. The Players Award went to sophomore Patrice Schoolman (Herscher HS, Kankakee, IL), signifying the player who displayed the most "heart" and contributed unselfishly to the team.

Captains for the 2001 team will be a trio of juniors: Erin Johnson (Knoxville HS, Knoxville, IL), Okon and Brooke Faoro (Kewanee HS, Kewanee, IL).

Wiorkowski, Okon and Hallstrom were named to the College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin all-conference team and Kistler was selected as "Coach of the Year". Hallstrom was further honored by being chosen to the Great Lakes All-Region second team as a utility player.

The Vikings got out of the gate in a hurry; winning eight of 10 games in Florida and the highlight of the year was a championship in the Augustana Invitational. In that tournament the Augustana pitching staff allowed just one unearned run in five games. The Vikings qualified for the CCIW tournament but were eliminated in two games.

2000 Augustana Softball Award Winners

Most Valuable Players - Kristie Wiorkowski & Hayley Hallstrom

Best Offensive Player - Christine Okon

Best Defensive Player - Kristie Wiorkowski

Most Improved Player - Abby Hodge

Players Award- Patrice Schoolman

2001 Captains Elect - Erin Johnson, Christine Okon & Brooke Faoro