Augustana College printing logo

Thirty-seventh Rock Island Fine Arts Exhibition

March 5-April 21 (also open on the following Sundays: April 7, 14 and 21 from noon to 4 p.m.; closed for Easter holiday, March 29-April 3); catalog available as of April 5 reception

Open to visual artists working in any media except video, this annual juried competition for artists residing within a 150-mile radius of the Quad Cities is co-sponsored with the Rock Island Art Guild. Entry specifications will be on the Call for Entries, found at this link. The image entry deadline is January 21. More than $3,000 in awards may be presented, including the Sally MacMillan Watercolor Award given in recognition of the founder of the Rock Island Art Guild. The public is cordially invited to submit a single ballot for the artwork of their choice for the "People's Choice Award." The piece receiving the most votes will receive a $50 prize. Children are invited to submit a single ballot for the artwork they wish to receive a "Children's Choice" $50 award. Results will be tallied and announced on the final day of the exhibition. The 2012 awards are available here.


The 2013 juror is San Francisco Bay Area artist and writer Pamela Blotner. Much of Blotner's work has been informed by her experiences as an Illustrator/Mission Specialist on missions for Human Rights Watch, Physicians for Human Rights, and the UC Berkeley Human Rights Center. She creates sculptures and drawings reflecting on humankind's relationship to the natural world-beliefs, traditions and human responsibilities, as well as ways artists use visual art to heal and shape a war-torn culture. Blotner is an adjunct professor at John F. Kennedy University, a member of the faculty of Pixar University at Pixar Animation Studios, a consultant to the Graduate School of Meridian University, and an advisor to the board of Artist's Rescue Mission in Houston, TX.


Pamela Blotner, The Vanishing, ongoing felted fibers and mixed media sculpture installation, animals seen are life size, © Pamela Blotner.


Co-sponsors are the Rock Island Art Guild and the Augustana College Art Museum.

  • Exhibition Chairs: Jo Ellen Maurus (2012) and Eric J. Rowell (2013)
  • Rock Island Art Guild Co-presidents: Gary and Gloria Burlingame
  • Call and Catalog: Jennifer Saintfort
  • Exhibition Arrangements: Sherry C. Maurer
  • Fund Raising: Joyce Glassner
  • Hospitality: Christa Lohmeier and Deb Feldman
  • Publicity: William Hannan
  • Registration: Diane von Dresky
  • Image Processing: Bob and Kathy Lelonek
  • Telephone Reminders: Karen Williams


We thank:

  • Paul Lange Illustration Inc., for artistic services in designing the Call for Entries and Catalog.
  • The David and Barbara Parker, Victorian Inn Bed and Breakfast, Rock Island, for accommodations for the year 2011 juror.


Benefactors: $500 and up

  • Mr. and Mrs. Gary and Gloria Burlingame
  • Deere and Company
  • Mrs. Shirley Harris
  • Mrs. Isador Katz
  • Ms. Diane von Dresky

Sustainers: $250 to $499

  • Mr. William Hannan
  • Mrs. Nancy Hass
  • Mr. and Mrs. Kevin and Jane Koski
  • Mr. and Mrs. Fred and Cindy Lukasik

Donors: $150 to $249

  • Mrs. Rita Benker
  • Bituminous Insurance Companies
  • Dr. and Mrs. Brian and Barbara Cady
  • Dr. and Mrs. Paul and Sue McDevitt

Supporters: $100 to $149

  • Mrs. Jean Appier
  • Mrs. G. Pierson Brauch
  • Mrs. Joan Larsen
  • Mr. Lionel Marcoux
  • Ms. Barbara Marx
  • Dr. and Mrs. Jeffrey and Jo Ellen Maurus
  • Mr. and Mrs. Italo and Joann Milani
  • Mr. and Mrs. David and Barbara Parker
  • Mr. and Mrs. James and Sandra Partridge
  • Dr. and Mrs. Timothy and Martha Schermer
  • Mr. George J. Schlenker
  • Mr. and Mrs. Tom and Holly Sparkman
  • The Valley Construction Company
  • Mr. and Mrs. Douglas and Beverly Walker
  • Wheelan Pressley Funeral Home

Contributors: up to $99

  • Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin and Nancy Farrar
  • Mr. and Mrs. Ron and Joyce Glassner
  • Mike Lawrence and Sherry Maurer
  • Mr. and Mrs. Bob and Kathy Lelonek
  • Mr. and Mrs. Stan and Christa Lohmeier
  • Mrs. Linda Pfaff
  • Mr. and Mrs. Mark and Debbie Schwiebert
  • Ms. Emily Smith
  • Mr. and Mrs. Stephen and Corrine Smith