Monday, February 7

12:00 PM - RSVP to Mary Koski for Reacting to the Past Workshop

4:00 - 5:00 PM - All LSFY Faculty Meeting - Transition and Feedback
Wilson Center

Tuesday, February 8

10:45 AM - General Student Recital
Wallenberg Hall, Denkmann Building

11:30 - 11:50 AM - Tuesday Reflection: Ryan Schone, '11
Ascension Chapel, Founders Hall, 2nd floor

6:30 - 8:30 PM - Winter Ecology Series: Karthik Ramaswamy presents: Bugs on Ice!
Cost is $8 per class. Students and children <17 free. Walk-ins welcome.
Black Hawk State Historic Site, 15th Street and 45th Avenue, Rock Island, Illinois

Wednesday, February 9

9:30 - 10:30 AM - Coffee and Conversation
CEC Conference Room, Sorensen Hall, 1st floor

12:00 - 1:00 PM - Bible Study Group
led by Pastor Priggie, for faculty, staff and administrators
Bring your lunch, and a Bible
Chicago Room, College Center

6:00 PM - Understanding Latino Culture, presented by Dr. Duane "Chip" Anderson
Free admission
102 Hanson Hall of Science

7:00 PM - Hispanic Film Festival: Octubre
Rated R. In Spanish with English subtitles, free of charge
Olin Auditorium

8:00 PM - Augustana Jazz Combo Soiree
Wallenberg Hall, Denkmann Building

Thursday, February 10

11:00 AM - 1:00 PM - Strategic Imperatives Planning Committee/Design Team Representatives will be available to discuss the framework before and after the faculty meeting

11:30 AM - 12:30 PM - Full Faculty Meeting
Olin Auditorium

10:45 AM - "The Drinking Gourd"
A production about the Underground Railroad presented by the Black Student Union
John Deere Planetarium and Carl Gamble Obseratory

4:00 PM - Celebrate Valentine's Day with "Augustana Sweethearts"
Netta Bartholomew Anderson, Lydia Olsson, and Ethel Pearson, the current student-curated exhibit in
Special Collections, Thomas Tredway Library, first floor

7:00 PM - The Vagina Monologues
$9; or $6 for students in advance
Wallenberg Hall, Denkmann Building

7:00 PM - French Film Festival: Bamako
Not rated. In French with English subtitles, free of charge
304 Hanson Hall of Science

Friday, February 11

4:00 PM - Friday Conversations - "Strategic Imperatives Show and Tell"
3:30 PM - Refreshments
Wilson Center

7:30 PM- Autobahn: A Short Play Cycle
Bergendoff Hall, Black Box Theatre

9:00 PM - Tracey Ashley, comedian
Free admission
Wallenberg Hall, Denkmann Building

Saturday, February 12

2:00 PM - Augustana Concert Band Concert
Music of various composers
Rick Jaeschke, director
Centennial Hall

3:00 PM- Autobahn: A Short Play Cycle
Bergendoff Hall, Black Box Theatre

7:00 PM - The Vagina Monologues
$9; or $6 for students in advance
Wallenberg Hall, Denkmann Building

8:00 PM - Augustana Symphony Orchestra Concert
Included will be Webern, a Schoenberg-Mann cello concerto, and Mahler Symphony No. 6
Centennial Hall

Sunday, February 13

3:00 PM - Piano Dedication Concert
Rob Elfline will present a concert to dedicate the congregation's new Yamaha Conservatory piano and will include works by Bach, Haydn, Grieg, Gershwin and Ellington.
Free and open to the public
St. John's Lutheran Church, 4501 7th Avenue, Rock Island, Illinois


Volume 8, Issue 20 - February 7, 2011


The Faculty Research Committee
solicits proposals for
Sabbatical Leave Grants and Summer Research Stipends

Nature of these research grants (see Faculty Handbook for details):

There are two available Sabbatical Leave Grants

There are two available Summer Research Stipends

In the context of the top two bulleted items above, any faculty member with academic rank who is full-time faculty, joint appointment faculty, adjunct or part-time faculty, are eligible. This includes librarians, coaches, or appointees to concurrent administrative positions with rank.

Guidelines and selection process of the proposals (see Faculty Handbook for details):

1) Five page maximum proposal with itemized budget

2) Proposal must include:

3) Criteria used by committee to rate proposals: eligibility, clarity of presentation, appropriate budget prediction, prospects for publication or public attention, applicant's qualifications

4) Expectation for funded work:

Please send your proposal by e- mail attachment if at all possible (otherwise six hard copies) by 5:00 PM on March 14, 2011 to Mary Koski in the Dean's Office. Expected date of award announcements: March 25, 2010. Direct questions to any member of the committee: David Arbesú, Ian Harrington, Margaret Morse, Jamie Nelson, Pat Shea, or Jim van Howe.